Mary Wynne's Crabapple Jelly Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I made Crab apple jelly for the first time. I do not know if I started with 8 cups of crab apples, but I boiled about 200 of them in just enough water to cover. I put it all in a bowl and fridge it for a couple of days. I then strained it all thru a jelly bag, twice. Vice the cinnamon stick, I sprinkled about 1/8 tsp of ground cinnamon into it. Brought it to a boil with 3 cups of sugar. I got 9 cups (250 ml jars) out of it all. It is just the right amount of sweetness to tart I love. My jelly is nowhere as clear as the picture above but that's OK. :) Thanks for the recipe. I think I may boil down some more, get the jelly out of it and make cranberry sauce with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
This was the first time making crab apple jelly. This recipe came out great! It is going in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy Fidler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
Everything depends on the crabapples you use. Mine are about 1" in diameter. I ran them through an electric juicer, ending up with 10 cups of juice. The juice was cloudy green. after the initial boil, all of the particulate matter causing the green cloudiness "glomped" together and I was able to pour the juice through a fine sieve to remove it. I returned the juice to a boil and had a small amount of foam, which was easily skimmed. I initially added 8 cups of sugar for the 10 cups of juice. This was based on another review stating they used 4 cups of sugar to 5 cups of juice. After tasting, I realized I had some really sour apples..... I added another 1 1/2 cups of sugar. Brought it up to the 220 degrees F recommended in the original recipe, and proceeded from there to pour into the hot sterile jelly jars, and put them through the water bath. Worked well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
tastes good...but it didn't set up. I needed to add pectin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Wonderful recipe and just a quick note, you do not have to cut and quarter the apples, just leave them whole and they will burst when the water starts to boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
I made this last night. A made a double batch from my own crabapple tree. It turned out awesome! I followed the directions. I was afraid it was not going to make much but I doubled the recipe and made 14 4 oz jars and 2 1/2 pint jars. Enough to give as gifts. I'm going to make some more juice and freeze it so I can make more jelly in the winter. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Excellent! Did a batch this fall and it was great! Everyone loves my jelly and it comes out just as is says in the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
This makes delicious jelly, a bit tart and sweet both. Yummy on toast. Needs no adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Its a simple recipe. There was a crabapple tree down the street that was loaded with crabapples. I had chopped up 12 cups worth, added water to level and boiled. Removed the mash and filtered. The muslin cloth works fine. Boiled with two cinnamon sticks and around 5 cups of sugar. The point about making jelly or candy is that you have to reach the right temperature. If not that means you have to keep cooking to remove water. Water boils at 212, sugar mixture boils higher (jelly 220). So keep cooking it to remove water and the temp will eventually climb. The sugar will get all bubbly. Once you reach 220, fill up your jars and enjoy. My jelly had a nice red color. I remember my grandma's jelly was much lighter pink. Its a bit of work but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
BEWARE: I made the recipe 10-16-13; It made four jelly jars full; (It took three quarts of crab apples to make TWO quarts to process.) I had a some jelly left after filling the jars and had it on toast. It was delicious, BUT soon after my lips went numb and I had chest and intestinal pains during the night. I've read where the seeds can produce cyanide. The recipe calls for cutting the crab apples in quarters before boiling/simmering, which I did but of course this cut many of the seeds in half, exposing the parts that can produce the cyanide poisoning. I read where you would have to eat a cup of seeds to be poisoned, but thought maybe cooking all the shredded seeds might have been the problem. It might be that I'm allergic to something in the recipe, but thought I should mention the possible hazard. Bill, McComb, Ohio
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Concord Grape Jelly

See how to make the perfect jelly for PBJs.

How to Make Pear Honey

See how to turn pears into a sweet condiment that tastes just like honey.

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States