Mary Oppenhiemer's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Wonderful recipe. Baked up 24 mini cupcakes and about 14 regular-sized cupcakes. Great, almost cookie-like flavor. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This review is for the cake alone, as I made this into cupcakes and used a different frosting. I found the batter thick and luxurious. The cake was moist but not all that sweet, so it worked well with the buttercream frosting I topped it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
I gave the cake a "good" rating since I found it too dense and not a lot of taste,but the caramel icing is definitely the "BEST". Just the right consistency for pouring over a bundt cake, makes a nice covering on the cake. I use this icing on a banana nut cake recipe (instead of making two loaves, it makes one bundt) and the spices, bananas and nuts are fabulous with this caramel icing. Always get raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I don't own a bundt pan, so I used a regular 9x13 cake pan for this recipe. I was a little worried it would rise too much for my pan, because I was also following the Oreo cake recipe with this cake (which by the way, I would not recommend). This cake's flavor is fantastic, and can't wait to make it WITHOUT the stupid Oreos & chocolate chips x) Thanks a lot! ~Bae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
'Only made one layer & increased sugar by half. Medium texture; light taste & color; a little dry. Dryness may be my fault. I didn't realize how light this was going to be when baked. It's still pretty light looking when it's done. Be sure to grease well - or you'll have to eat warm cake, too! :) K, 11 yrs, liked this one a lot. E, 14 yrs, liked it better than yellow clooney cake, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is a heavy cake that isn't very sweet. It's great when you're using a sweet frosting, and would make a great brunch style dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Made this cake for the first time for a family Christmas luncheon. Everyone raved about it! I changed it up a little by adding 1/2 each of Craisins and chopped pecans. Had to bake a little longer than listed. It's a hit, everyone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This cake had a great texture-- fluffy but still firm and moist-- but it had very little flavor. It would be bland if it weren't for the caramel glaze. I think it would be a good cake for decorating, but don't be deceived by the butter title--was not rich and butter at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This cake recipe is great. After reading the reviews I tried it because I wanted a cake that would hold its shape for and April Fool's Day spaghetti cake. It was perfect, sturdy but fluffy, moist and rich tasting. I covered it with a buttercream frosting and strawberry jelly (for the spaghetti sauce) and cocoa-krispy treat meatballs. I can definitely see this cake used as a wedding cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciwizpc

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
This cake is not what thought it was going to be.. Don't get my wrong it was very good. I made cupcakes and they were not a sweet as i though. Instead I am using them as short cakes with Strawberries and whipped cream mmmmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States