Mary Oppenhiemer's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I got this recipe off this website about 6 years ago... could it be that long? I think it was. I never post reviews, but I think that this one deserves a rave review. As a cake decorator, I've made this cake countless times over the years. It is dense and rich. Used it in wedding cakes and it perfect for 3D cakes. It is delicious. I love the flavor. I usually make this cake without the frosting following the cake recipe exactly. Sometimes, I'll add different flavors: ground almond (about 1/2-3/4 cup) and almond extract instead of vanilla or lemon zest(about 3-4 lemons) with lemon extract. Tried adding cocoa one time and that didn't come out that great. It is delicious with a chocolate buttercream frosting. Give it a try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MishNYC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
My brother absolutley loves this cake! Tried it with butter and margarine, butter tastes much better. Did not like the carmel topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COLEYNMS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
The Only change i made to this recipes was that i added 1 more egg.I was really worried about this being an heavy cake from the batter being a bit thicker than most cake batters.But to my Suprise this is a very light and moist cake!I will be making this again.Everyone loved it and i made this cake for a 4th of July Girl Scout picnic useing buttercream icing,decorating it to look like a huge slice of watermelon.None of it was left at the end of the day!THNX MUCH:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This is a very dense, almost like a pound cake. It is really good, I don't make it with the frosting, I use a chocolate truffle frostin and it is sooo yummy. My family loves it. I used it when I want a rich, dense, buttery cake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This review is for the cake alone, as I made this into cupcakes and used a different frosting. I found the batter thick and luxurious. The cake was moist but not all that sweet, so it worked well with the buttercream frosting I topped it with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
..I Bow to Mrs Oppenhiemer!! This cake was Absolutely Fantastic!!! This cake had a great butter taste, was Moist,Delicious,and best of all EASY To make!!!!.I sliced it,and placed a Fresh Strawberry,Blueberry Mixture on top That was tossed with a small amount of Sugar,and then I topped That with some fresh whipped topping. Were talk'n Heaven Here!!.Thanks Again Mrs Oppenhiemer for leaving this to pass on to our generation!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2002
I don't know if I did something wrong because it had such high marks, but my family didn't like this one. It was really heavy, like a brick. The frosting was also too much - maybe I beat it too long. The recipe doesn't indicate how long to beat it. I was disappointed at the family gathering when we finally cut into this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I don't own a bundt pan, so I used a regular 9x13 cake pan for this recipe. I was a little worried it would rise too much for my pan, because I was also following the Oreo cake recipe with this cake (which by the way, I would not recommend). This cake's flavor is fantastic, and can't wait to make it WITHOUT the stupid Oreos & chocolate chips x) Thanks a lot! ~Bae
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
This is a heavy cake that isn't very sweet. It's great when you're using a sweet frosting, and would make a great brunch style dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
'Only made one layer & increased sugar by half. Medium texture; light taste & color; a little dry. Dryness may be my fault. I didn't realize how light this was going to be when baked. It's still pretty light looking when it's done. Be sure to grease well - or you'll have to eat warm cake, too! :) K, 11 yrs, liked this one a lot. E, 14 yrs, liked it better than yellow clooney cake, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States