Mary Oppenhiemer's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
Makes me think of the old days when all cakes were from scratch and the baking of them was a special treat. Delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was *very tasty! However, after using it in a cake decorating class, I'll say basic icing is too overpowering to go with it. It's delightful on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATANAROGUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I made this cake for work this week. It got rave reviews! I substituted half of the vanilla with almond extract. I did not make the frosting, but frosted it with buttercream frosting instead and had it decorated with a picture of a turkey. It was a very dense cake, but it made it good for decorating (less crumbs). I might try using more eggs next time to see if I can get it a bit lighter and fluffier. But I have to say thank you...I have a request from a co-worker to make a birthday cake for her using this recipe (she doesn't bake.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
decent flavor the the cake is very very dense. Not going to make this one again for a traditional birthday cake. I baked it in a bunt pan and covered with a chocolate frosting from this website. The frosting was good, the cake was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Oxford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
Not bad. But kinda dry. I've made better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
The Only change i made to this recipes was that i added 1 more egg.I was really worried about this being an heavy cake from the batter being a bit thicker than most cake batters.But to my Suprise this is a very light and moist cake!I will be making this again.Everyone loved it and i made this cake for a 4th of July Girl Scout picnic useing buttercream icing,decorating it to look like a huge slice of watermelon.None of it was left at the end of the day!THNX MUCH:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I got this recipe off this website about 6 years ago... could it be that long? I think it was. I never post reviews, but I think that this one deserves a rave review. As a cake decorator, I've made this cake countless times over the years. It is dense and rich. Used it in wedding cakes and it perfect for 3D cakes. It is delicious. I love the flavor. I usually make this cake without the frosting following the cake recipe exactly. Sometimes, I'll add different flavors: ground almond (about 1/2-3/4 cup) and almond extract instead of vanilla or lemon zest(about 3-4 lemons) with lemon extract. Tried adding cocoa one time and that didn't come out that great. It is delicious with a chocolate buttercream frosting. Give it a try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MishNYC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
this looks delicious. I cant wait to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lucky
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2006
The sauce was incredible. It really gave the cake its flavor. Without it, I found it to be somewhat bland. What would have given it flavor would have been some diced granny apples in the batter. Next time I will try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
great cake recconmend for any one better than most cakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States