Mary Anne's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
If you like spiced type of cake, you'll like this and it's a great addition to your holiday festivities. I have a favorite carrot cake already but this recipe needed a picture. Overall, it was good; I left out the raisins, otherwise, no one would've touched it and also reduced the recipe to fit a 9x9. I topped it with cream cheese frosting and candied carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING! The only changes I made was switching out 1 of the cups of white sugar with golden brown sugar and added one cup of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristifrancis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Rancho Cordova, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
Very good!!! Hubby gave it a big thumbs up. I made half recipe for 1 cake. I didn't have raisins so I substituted 1 yellow delicious apple finely chopped. I used 1 cup of white and 1 cup of brown sugar & through in 1/2 cup of old fashion oats along with a little extra cinnamon, and 2 - 8oz. cans of crushed pineapple. I put about a tablespoon of the reserved pineapple juice in the frosting. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Moist from all the oil! Too much oil,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Great moist cake....I followed the other reviewers advice and reduced the oil, replaced pineapple with applesauce and since I didn't have raisins, used walnuts instead. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
A huge success!!! I made carrot cupcakes using this recipe for my twin"s birthday (they go to separate schools) and what a big success!!! Everyone raved about 'em and are asking for the recipe. I added a little more of the spices and a tsp of vanilla to the batter and about 1/3 cup more of the raisins. Topped them with cream cheese frosting. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
I made the full recipe and it was enough for a 9 X 13 and a 8 X 8. I followed the recipe exact but added some chocolate chips to the 8 X 8 for the kids. I topped both with a cream cheese frosting. The flavor is good but I found it to be a bit dry which surprised me since so many reviews said it was moist. I guess I possibly cooked it too long but checked it and took it out as soon as a toothpick came out clean from the center. I consider it okay but not fantastic. I'm still going to look for my "go to" recipe for banana cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Renee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
These were great, moist and healthy. To make them more lowfat I pureed a drained can of great northern beans to replace the oil. And to use less sugar I added 1 ripe banana and 1/2 cup of applesauce for half of the sugar. I also increased the (whole wheat) flour and cooking time to make up for added moisture .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
The best!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
This was the best carrot cake i've ever eaten! I halved the recipe and it still made a large cake. I also added walnuts. Even the people who normally don't like carrot cake were impressed with how yummy it tasted. This recipe is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baker, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States