Mary Anne's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2004
SUPERB!! I tried this recipe because I needed to make two cakes as gifts right away. Very moist!! The first time I made this it was crumbly and a bit greasy. I modified it to just 1 cup of oil, added 1 tsp real vanilla extract and scaled back to just 1 cup raisins. Blend (not stir) the first 4 ingredients then beat mixture for 1 minute after adding each egg, it makes a great difference in the texture. For the "nutty" taste I folded in 1 cup walnuts with the raisins. Pour on a warm buttermilk or creamcheese glaze and YUMMMM!!! I have made it 3 times since and it is quickly becoming a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Delicious and SO easy!!! Everyone loved it! Not too sweet either.I added a cup of chopped walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rusty's girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I left out the rasins and replaced them with chopped walnuts, and the cakes turned out beautifully. These were the first scratch cakes I have ever made, and they were the bomb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Two words: KICK BUTT! I am not the worlds best baker so if I could make this cake and it turn out as awesome as it did, then you can too! Making it right now for Easter! GREAT RECIPE! Thank you Mary Anne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColesCookinMamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
Turne duot very good. I have just started baking and it turned out good.I reduced the amount of eggs to three though and had a bit less carrot and flour.But as u mentioned it can be divided into half.thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Used shredded carrots (from bag at grocery store) and chopped them. This cake was Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
Without a doubt, the most delicious and decadent carrot cake I have ever eaten - I wish I could only eat this cake for the rest of my life *sigh*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEPHINER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
Very good with a few modifications. I halved the recipe as I only wanted 1 cake. As per another review, I only used 1/2 cup oil added walnuts. I also used brown sugar instead of white, added 1/2 tsp baking powder. Next time I will try adding some more carrot and spices to it, and even less oil (I can't handle too much oil). I baked this in mini-bundt muffin pans to serve as individual desserts and only modified the baking time to 22mins. They looked lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
This is a moist and fluffy carrot cake. I was looking for something more dense, but this is good. Boyfriend said it's the best cake I ever made. Instead of 1 cu of raisins, I put in 1 cu of crushed walnuts. Next time I'll put in 1/2 cu more. I also followed a users comment and cut the oil to 1 cu. Did anyone taste the baking powder like I did? That's my only complaint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Wow! Have to say this was really good. Very moist and flavorful. Used no-sugar applesauce, half brown sugar half white, and walnuts instead of raisens. The carrot, pineapple and nuts give it a really nice (and slightly colorful) texture. Made it for my husband's birthday - carrot is his favorite - and will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States