Mary Anne's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
WOW! WHAT A GREAT CARROT CAKE. I MADE THIS FOR MY DAUGHTER-IN-LAWS FESTIVAL, I THINK THAT SHE WILL BE PLEASED. I MADE THE CHANGES (1 CUP OIL, 1 CUP RAISINS, AND ALSO ADDED THE PURE VANILLA. WHAT A WONDERFUL CAKE! THANK YOU FOR A GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
this recipe is great!..thanks only changes i made were using whole wheat flour to keep it healthy, using 1.5 times the recommended carrots. i didnt have any pineabpples handy so i used apple sauce and it come out great too...thanks for this great recipe..i'll surely use it over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
OMG! This is a keeper! This is now my official carrot cake when I make it. SOOO moist with a crisp top. I halved the recipe since I only needed one round 9" cake to make the Eater bunny in the video on this site. The only think I changed was the sugar. I only had light brown sugar in the house so I used that instead of white. I'm sure it's just as good with white, I'll try that next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I took this carrot cake to a bible study and everyone was fighting to take some home. This is my favorite recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is absolutely the best carrot cake I have ever made.It was so easy and turn out moist with a lovely texture.Didn't have any raisins so I replaced them with walnuts.They combined well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I don't know how the original tastes but we made muffins with the following changes and my kids are scarfing them down. I halved the recipe Substituted applesauce for the oil Used 1 c sucanat organic natural sugar instead of white sugar used whole wheat flour instead of white omitted the raisins (as my kids can't eat these yet) tossed in a couple tablespoons flax seed meal Baked for 15 minutes. This will be a great healthy breakfast or lunch snack. I don't know how it will keep after a day or so but coming out of the oven they sure are yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Excellent! My husband went back for seconds. I added about a tablespoon of grated fresh ginger to the carrots. Served it with fresh, sliced strawberries. Next time, I will try to make some frosting for it, because this time the cake didn't last long enough to frost!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
Used shredded carrots (from bag at grocery store) and chopped them. This cake was Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
The only change I made to this recipe is that I scaled back on the oil to only one cup as suggested per other reviewers, and I used individual mini-bundt pans because I was taking this to my boyfriend's family's house for Thanksgiving. The cake was so moist it was actually mooshy, and it was hard to take out of the mini-bundt pans, I had to use a spatula to scrape it off the sides. I tried baking them longer, but it only added to my array of problems. My boyfriend's family said that it was really good, but i think they were just being polite. I personally didn't like it, and I'm not at all picky with my desserts as i have an insatiable sweet tooth. I probably won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by With A Twinkle In Her Eye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Great recipe. I halved the recipe and made 6 4-inch mini cakes to give away as gifts. I added nutmeg, cloves and ginger, and also threw in some sliced almonds that I needed to use up. This cake is not too sweet, which I really like since my cream cheese frosting recipe is pretty sweet. Next time I might substitute applesauce for half the oil since it was a bit oily, but that's the only change I might make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional


Displaying results 51-60 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Pineapple Cake

See how to make a sweet, moist and rich cake with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States