Mary Anne's Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
When my mom requested that I bring carrot cake to Easter dinner, I started searching. Since I don't have cake pans, but do have a bundt, this was perfect. I halved the recipe, and omitted the nutmeg (no one in my family cares for it). FANTASTIC carrot cake. Moist and flavorful, even through the following week... not that it lasted all that long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTI125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
I made a few changes: I halved the recipe and used a 9 x 13, used only 1/2 c. oil and 1/2 c. applesauce, substituted br. sugar for white, used half whole wheat, and added a few more spices. My brother-in-law said it was the best carrot cake he'd ever tasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vauxhall, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Sexsmith, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
If you are on the hunt down for the PERFECT carrot cake, your search is over. I decreased the oil to 1 cup, reduced pineapple to 20 oz,added 10 oz applesauce, 1 cup chopped pecans. Reduced white flour to one cup and added 2 cups whole wheat flour. Added 1/4 tsp vanilla. Frosted with 16 oz cream cheese, 1/2 cup butter, 1 tsp Vanilla and 4 cups confectioners sugar. Oh, mama, this is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I made this for a birthday party a while back and everyone was in love. There wasn't a piece left. I didn't use as much oil and omitted the raisins because some people didn't like them. Made a cream cheese frosting (that ended up like a glaze-I don't know what I did-this is why I rarely bake) but it went perfect with this. I will never enjoy another carrot cake. **Not fluffy like most cakes!** Hands down, the best dessert ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
I made this cake for my daughter's birthday this week-end. She loves carrot cake but this was by FAR the best recipe we have ever tried. Absolutely perfect, moist and flavorful. Still getting raves and requests for the recipe! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Windham, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Just like my Mom used to make when I was little!!! LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Made this for my wife's birthday. Everyone said it was the best cake they ever had. My mother asked where I got the recipe. I made a double layer (two round pans) version and halved everything. Scaled back on the rasins and made a homemade cream cheese icing. I think the pineapple and the rasins definately kept it moist. Baked the double pans at 360 for about 35 or 37 mins. Will for sure be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rawson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
This is the best recipe on here. I love it and so has everyone I've made it for.. A friend tired a different of here and I told them this one still was the best.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
I found that this cake came out too soft and oily for my taste. In hindsight I should have added a bit more flour and reduced the amount of oil even more than I did. I will say that the flavors in the cake were nice. I will make it again but will tweak it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
This is sooo good! I didn't use raisins as we're not big raisin fans. I was going to put walnuts in but forgot...next time. I used the whipped cream cream cheese frosting from this site, submitted by Tom--very highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MookiePie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mankato, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States