Marty's Thai Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I am giving this five stars because it is amazing, but if you make the sauce recipe as suggested, you will end up with a bland coconut soup. So I suggest using only chunky peanut butter instead of peanut butter/peanuts and using 1/2 cup as well as doubling the rest of the spices. My sister in law says it's better than restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
This was great. Even the finicky eater loved it. In my version, I added sweeten coconut flakes to the marinade bag after blending the original marinade recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maika Frederic

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Omnomnomnom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Wonderfully tangy chicken. Great dish as a centerpiece or side to any meal. Wonderfully rich also. The peanut sauce could have been more flavorful, perhaps take that into account if making this. Perhaps use twice the spice or an extra half of the spices/peanut butter. I baked mine in the oven at 475 degrees, cooked up quick, lightly charred, and juicy... just like they would on a grill. Will be making this again and again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mvktr2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stonewall, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Kosciusko, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Thumbs up from everyone! 10 year old boy proclaimed, "I think this is the best meal I ever had." Picky 17 year old girl went back for seconds! I did use chicken thigh meat instead of chicken breast, it grilled up great. Served it with julienne carrots and white rice. The sauce was very good, and very easy to make hotter by just adding a bit more curry paste. Definately a keeper! For those who haven't used lemongrass ever, you may want to try the following: Remove most of the woody parts, coarsely chop the stems and crush by hand to release the flavor. Unless you have very very fresh lemongrass, you will just end up with woody slivers if you try to food process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I was unable to find tamarind paste, lemon grass, or muscovado sugar - so I substituted Worcestershire sauce, lemon zest, and brown sugar. Delicious despite the substitutions. Peanut sauce was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I made this exactly the way the recipe was written, and my whole family loved it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This was one of the best things I've ever tried. My company LOVED it and I have to say, don't expect better in a restaurant... this is awesome. I didn't have the muscovado sugar, so I substituted brown sugar as others have done. I also could not find tamarind paste, so I used a small amount of a jarred sauce that I found that had tamarind paste as one of it's main ingredients. Chicken was super tender. I also marinated for 3 hours. LOVE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This is absolutely worth every bit of effort! The only ingredient I couldn't find was muscovado sugar, so I substituted brown sugar. It was delicious, and all five of my picky kids gobbled it up! YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I added extra peanuts (because more peanuts is better!), added 1/2 tablespoon of fish sauce (dipping sauce was turning out too sweet), and used brown sugar in place of muscovado sugar. It was so good! I made it for a dinner party and everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States