Marty's Thai Chicken Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made the recipe as is, except used 1 tsp of the red curry paste, and used 1tsp of lemon grass puree as I did not have a fresh stalk, and it was fantastic. Used 5 boneless thighs which is my cut of choice when i grill/Tandoor. Tends to stay more juicy and take on the flavor of the marinade. cooked in the green egg at 550 F, for 18 minutes. Next time round i may try to puree the sauce before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
What a hit with the family! It was so good that my 16 year old daughter insisted on taking the meager leftovers to school for lunch today! I found all of the ingredients at my local grocery store except the taramind paste, which I found at an Indian grocery store (who knew one was 5 miles away?). I suggest the tubed minced lemongrass (they sell ginger like this too in my market's produce section). You get 6 stalks in the tube and then you can refrigerate it for later use. I followed the recipe to the tee and it was perfect. I even made a cucumber salad with it and served it with naan....Target sells excellent naan from it's bakery. Enjoy...we will again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
SO GOOD!!!!!!!! Used brown sugar instead of the muscovado, turned out great. I've made this twice now & my whole family LOVES it. Worth all the effort :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Armistead Zyk

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
So Yummy! Next time I'm going to add red pepper flakes to the peanut sauce to give it some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Delicious and really flavorful! Couldn't find tamarind paste and muscovado sugar, so I subbed with Worsterchire and brown sugar. My dipping sauce came out watery (maybe because I forgot to add the tomato paste), but was still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Used brown sugar for Muscovado. Made the marinade exactly. Doubled the sauce ingredients and quadrupled the peanut butter and omitted the peanuts. Used 20 oz of lite cocount milk. Marinated chicken for 12 hours just because made it the night before. I have NEVER had such tender chicken...the chicken breast were organic. It was like a Filet Mignon that melts in your mouth. YUM! Hope you try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This is great I'm throwing out my old recipe! Our friends loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
I didn't have lemongrass so I used the powder and palm sugar in place of muscovado...this was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
Excellent, perfect, no need to alter the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
I am giving this five stars because it is amazing, but if you make the sauce recipe as suggested, you will end up with a bland coconut soup. So I suggest using only chunky peanut butter instead of peanut butter/peanuts and using 1/2 cup as well as doubling the rest of the spices. My sister in law says it's better than restaurants!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States