Marty's Loosemeat Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I wish I could rate this higher, but my family just didn't like it. Neither my husband or son would eat it after a few bites, and threw theirs out. I hate to say it, but I ended up agreeing with them. Definitely salty tasting, so I would cut that back considerably. The flavor may have been improved by adding some of the ingredients mentioned in other reviews. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I grew up in a little town in Ohio where there is a sandwich shop that's been there since the 40's that serves Maid Rites which are loose meat sandwiches. They won't give out the recipe but rumor has it that they are steamed in beer and a little sugar and mustard. I haven't been able to duplicate them but this isn't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
My husband and I loved this recipe. I'm not one for loosemeat sandwhiches but this was so tasty and great!! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
This recipe is a winner at my house! It *does* take longer for the beer to cook off than is indicated in the recipe. I timed it at about 45 minutes. Also, I add garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and canned portabello mushrooms to the mix. And, I slather the bread with mayonnaise (low fat), which goes really well with the meat mixture. I serve it with either a salad or peas with white sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS WAS PRETTY TASTY. I ONLY ADDED HALF THE AMOUNT OF BEER THAT THE RECIPE CALLED FOR. PLUS I ADDED A TBSP OF CATSUP AND SOME RED PEPPER FLAKES TO GIVE IT A LITTLE KICK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I really liked this recipe even though I don't normally care for beer. It has a unique flavor. The cooking time did take longer than stated, so be prepared for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This is kind of a sloppy joe for grown ups. I didn't think it was bad, but it does need some spicing up, because it really doesn't have much flavor. I used season salt rather than regular salt, but that didn't seem to help any. All I could taste was the pepper and my 13 month old would have nothing to do with it. If I make again I will add some onion and garlic to the hamburger when I brown it. Also, the cook time was much longer than stated. It took almost an hour on low for all the moisture to cook out of mine. I ended up removing the lid and turning the heat up to medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I really like this sandwich! It's a new twist to the same old hamburger! I will definately make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-48 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States