Marty's Loosemeat Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I reduced the amount of salt, added some onion and garlic to the meat while browning. Got too impatient (like another reviewer) and ended up turning the heat up. Got hubby's favorite beer and it turned out very well. He definately likes anything with that ingredient. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This is a very good version of a loosemeat sandwich. This recipe has now replaced my own loosemeat recipe. The beer makes the difference and it is very good. Be patient - it takes a while for the liquid to evaporate - if you like more seasoning - just add salt and pepper to taste. Don't forget to serve with diced onions and sliced pickles. We also like to serve on toasted hamburger buns. Thanks for a very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Excellent and easy! I let it simmer in the beer for a little longer, as the mix was a little soupy, but it was worth the wait. I'd love to try it with different beers to see how the flavor is affected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wilmington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Excellent! I loved the flavor! It reminded me of Maid-Rites, (to my suprise!), I just wasn't sure how the beer would flavor the meat. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This is definately a unique recipe. I have never had a loosemeat sandwich before but it was OK. I will try making this again but maybe add more spices to it for more flavor. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Tried this last night and, like most of the other reviews here, found the cooking time had to be extended. I'm pretty impatient sometime when cooking; I ended up, after 14 minutes or so of simmering on "low," raising the heat to just above medium, and it took about another half hour. Outside of that, made the recipe exactly the way it's published here. It's the first dish I've made in a while where the spouse specifically asked: "Is there more of this?" while still eating. After putting meat on rolls (potato hamburger rolls), I topped with some "medium-diced" white onions and smattered a small amount of mayo/Miracle Whip on rolls. We both really liked this sandwich. I can't tell you how the other two residents of our home liked the recipe... since there was none left to scrape into their dishes (And, boy, did they look unhappy about that)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
Reminded me of MaidRites from my home town in Iowa. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This was very good recipe, though I did heed the ideas of the before reviews. I added one whole small onion, diced with the burger when I cooked it; one-half a tsp of Old Bay seasoning; and only one-half a tsp of salt, but I think I would have left this out because of the Old Bay seasoning it was a little to salty. Thanks for sharing Marty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Good recipe Marty! Thanks for sharing.Some months back I tried my first Allrecipes Beer Chops recipe. Since then my knowledge for cooking, drinking etc...with beer has greatly changed. here are some facts to ponder on beer before cooking this recipe yourself. Is your favorite brand of beer a lager, ale or malt? You can not just run to the local store and grab the cheapest thing you find. You don't have to buy the most expensive either. The only thing you must do is adjust your flavors accordingly. The way you store your beer can have an effect not only on the drinking quality of beer, but cooking with it as well. A bottled beer tastes much different than a can beer. Storing a bottled beer on it's side can cause the yeast to oxidate with the cap. Always store your beer upright. Be careful when buying can beer. Always know the brand of beer is just fine to your palate and liking before cooking with it. Also, the less expensive beer will naturally have a higher salt taste than a more expensive beer. When using a less expensive beer adjust the measure of salt down for the recipe. I hope this review helps anyone who is willing to explore cooking with beer for this recipe and others. Best Dishes and Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is good! Upon reading the other reviews I made the folowing adjustments. I added chopped onion to the mixture at the same time as adding the beer, etc. I also used a tablespoon of heinz tabasco flavored ketchup and a dash of cayenne pepper for some tang. It turned out to be very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States