Marty's Loosemeat Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
This recipe is a winner at my house! It *does* take longer for the beer to cook off than is indicated in the recipe. I timed it at about 45 minutes. Also, I add garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and canned portabello mushrooms to the mix. And, I slather the bread with mayonnaise (low fat), which goes really well with the meat mixture. I serve it with either a salad or peas with white sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I love it and so does my family! I am from the Quad Cities and they are known for their Maid Rite sandwiches. It is almost impossible to duplicate because there is a secret ingredient. This recipe replaces all of my other attempts at mastering the local favorite. I wouldn't make any changes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Good recipe Marty! Thanks for sharing.Some months back I tried my first Allrecipes Beer Chops recipe. Since then my knowledge for cooking, drinking etc...with beer has greatly changed. here are some facts to ponder on beer before cooking this recipe yourself. Is your favorite brand of beer a lager, ale or malt? You can not just run to the local store and grab the cheapest thing you find. You don't have to buy the most expensive either. The only thing you must do is adjust your flavors accordingly. The way you store your beer can have an effect not only on the drinking quality of beer, but cooking with it as well. A bottled beer tastes much different than a can beer. Storing a bottled beer on it's side can cause the yeast to oxidate with the cap. Always store your beer upright. Be careful when buying can beer. Always know the brand of beer is just fine to your palate and liking before cooking with it. Also, the less expensive beer will naturally have a higher salt taste than a more expensive beer. When using a less expensive beer adjust the measure of salt down for the recipe. I hope this review helps anyone who is willing to explore cooking with beer for this recipe and others. Best Dishes and Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Excellent! I loved the flavor! It reminded me of Maid-Rites, (to my suprise!), I just wasn't sure how the beer would flavor the meat. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Very good, and so simple to make. I added dried red onions, and crushed red pepper flakes along with the beer. Simmered for a little over 1 hour. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
You have to be patient, but the wait is worth it. These sandwiches are awsome and the beer is a perfect addition. It is a great way of getting rid of that bottle or can of beer that is approaching it's expiration date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Missouri, USA
Living In: Washington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I always wanted to know what would make Roseanne open up a loosemeat sandwich shop on her show..now I know. This was good! I loved the way the beer made my house smell. I didn't have ground beef, so I used a pound of ground turkey instead. It took about 30 minutes on medium for the liquid to cook down. I put it on hamburger buns with mayo like someone suggested, wish I had the pickles though, bet that would have been good. It is kind of salty, so next time I will cut it by half. Thanks for a nice easy recipe that my kids, 3 and 6, even ate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I did add a small amout of ketchup, onion and garlic. I also used good local beer. My hubby LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Excellent and a nice change from traditional sloppy joe sandwiches. Made according to recipe except for adding about a teaspoon of ketchup and about a tablespoon of dried minced onion. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Try this. Use the same recipe but instead of browning ground beef, Mix all ingredients together and cook in a double boiler or a heavy skillet over medium heat, stirring so the beef don't brown and all liquid has evaporated. The flavors lock together and the meat will be alot more moist. This will make more of the maid-rite texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny V

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cherokee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States