Marty's Loosemeat Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Good recipe Marty! Thanks for sharing.Some months back I tried my first Allrecipes Beer Chops recipe. Since then my knowledge for cooking, drinking etc...with beer has greatly changed. here are some facts to ponder on beer before cooking this recipe yourself. Is your favorite brand of beer a lager, ale or malt? You can not just run to the local store and grab the cheapest thing you find. You don't have to buy the most expensive either. The only thing you must do is adjust your flavors accordingly. The way you store your beer can have an effect not only on the drinking quality of beer, but cooking with it as well. A bottled beer tastes much different than a can beer. Storing a bottled beer on it's side can cause the yeast to oxidate with the cap. Always store your beer upright. Be careful when buying can beer. Always know the brand of beer is just fine to your palate and liking before cooking with it. Also, the less expensive beer will naturally have a higher salt taste than a more expensive beer. When using a less expensive beer adjust the measure of salt down for the recipe. I hope this review helps anyone who is willing to explore cooking with beer for this recipe and others. Best Dishes and Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This is kind of a sloppy joe for grown ups. I didn't think it was bad, but it does need some spicing up, because it really doesn't have much flavor. I used season salt rather than regular salt, but that didn't seem to help any. All I could taste was the pepper and my 13 month old would have nothing to do with it. If I make again I will add some onion and garlic to the hamburger when I brown it. Also, the cook time was much longer than stated. It took almost an hour on low for all the moisture to cook out of mine. I ended up removing the lid and turning the heat up to medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
Tried this last night and, like most of the other reviews here, found the cooking time had to be extended. I'm pretty impatient sometime when cooking; I ended up, after 14 minutes or so of simmering on "low," raising the heat to just above medium, and it took about another half hour. Outside of that, made the recipe exactly the way it's published here. It's the first dish I've made in a while where the spouse specifically asked: "Is there more of this?" while still eating. After putting meat on rolls (potato hamburger rolls), I topped with some "medium-diced" white onions and smattered a small amount of mayo/Miracle Whip on rolls. We both really liked this sandwich. I can't tell you how the other two residents of our home liked the recipe... since there was none left to scrape into their dishes (And, boy, did they look unhappy about that)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I grew up in a little town in Ohio where there is a sandwich shop that's been there since the 40's that serves Maid Rites which are loose meat sandwiches. They won't give out the recipe but rumor has it that they are steamed in beer and a little sugar and mustard. I haven't been able to duplicate them but this isn't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Excellent! I loved the flavor! It reminded me of Maid-Rites, (to my suprise!), I just wasn't sure how the beer would flavor the meat. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I reduced the amount of salt, added some onion and garlic to the meat while browning. Got too impatient (like another reviewer) and ended up turning the heat up. Got hubby's favorite beer and it turned out very well. He definately likes anything with that ingredient. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
You have to be patient, but the wait is worth it. These sandwiches are awsome and the beer is a perfect addition. It is a great way of getting rid of that bottle or can of beer that is approaching it's expiration date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Missouri, USA
Living In: Washington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
An ok recipe. Needs a lot of seasoning, as others have suggested, to give it flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This is a very good version of a loosemeat sandwich. This recipe has now replaced my own loosemeat recipe. The beer makes the difference and it is very good. Be patient - it takes a while for the liquid to evaporate - if you like more seasoning - just add salt and pepper to taste. Don't forget to serve with diced onions and sliced pickles. We also like to serve on toasted hamburger buns. Thanks for a very nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I really like this sandwich! It's a new twist to the same old hamburger! I will definately make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States