Marty's Loosemeat Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I always wanted to know what would make Roseanne open up a loosemeat sandwich shop on her show..now I know. This was good! I loved the way the beer made my house smell. I didn't have ground beef, so I used a pound of ground turkey instead. It took about 30 minutes on medium for the liquid to cook down. I put it on hamburger buns with mayo like someone suggested, wish I had the pickles though, bet that would have been good. It is kind of salty, so next time I will cut it by half. Thanks for a nice easy recipe that my kids, 3 and 6, even ate!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holbrook, New York, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
very good recipe! let it simmer off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Takes a long time so have a snack, but tastes just like a maidrite sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cubsnbears

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
I thought it was really good; reminds me of the MaidRite sandwiches. I added more of all the seasonings. The beer was really good, and I'm sure my husband will not appreciate me raiding his fridge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I doubled the recipe to take to a potluck. I also added onion and a little minced garlic to the meat while browning. It was a bit too salty, next time I will cut back on the salt. I also added one teaspoon of ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
Great recipe! I used the other advice and added more spices to the meat while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
You have to be patient, but the wait is worth it. These sandwiches are awsome and the beer is a perfect addition. It is a great way of getting rid of that bottle or can of beer that is approaching it's expiration date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Haven, Missouri, USA
Living In: Washington, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
The beer made the meat have a very good flavor. Although, I did become impatient and turn up the heat as it was taking forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
I thought this was a great twist on the hamburger and the sloppy joe and have always wanted to try one since "Roseanne" he he. When making them again though I would make a bit of a change. For one, I would try making with half the amount of beer called for and for two, I would use a more basic beer (I used a pale ale too gourmet for this recipe beer). It definitely had a beer taste and I like beer but felt it could be cut back a wee bit. I, too added some minced onion and garlic while the meat was cooking. It does definitely take longer than stated for all the liquid to cook out. Good starter recipe though and easily adaptable to suit each family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Very good, and so simple to make. I added dried red onions, and crushed red pepper flakes along with the beer. Simmered for a little over 1 hour. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States