Marty's Loosemeat Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2002
I really like this sandwich! It's a new twist to the same old hamburger! I will definately make this again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
This is kind of a sloppy joe for grown ups. I didn't think it was bad, but it does need some spicing up, because it really doesn't have much flavor. I used season salt rather than regular salt, but that didn't seem to help any. All I could taste was the pepper and my 13 month old would have nothing to do with it. If I make again I will add some onion and garlic to the hamburger when I brown it. Also, the cook time was much longer than stated. It took almost an hour on low for all the moisture to cook out of mine. I ended up removing the lid and turning the heat up to medium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
I really liked this recipe even though I don't normally care for beer. It has a unique flavor. The cooking time did take longer than stated, so be prepared for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2003
I THOUGHT THIS WAS PRETTY TASTY. I ONLY ADDED HALF THE AMOUNT OF BEER THAT THE RECIPE CALLED FOR. PLUS I ADDED A TBSP OF CATSUP AND SOME RED PEPPER FLAKES TO GIVE IT A LITTLE KICK.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
This recipe is a winner at my house! It *does* take longer for the beer to cook off than is indicated in the recipe. I timed it at about 45 minutes. Also, I add garlic powder, red pepper flakes, and canned portabello mushrooms to the mix. And, I slather the bread with mayonnaise (low fat), which goes really well with the meat mixture. I serve it with either a salad or peas with white sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
My husband and I loved this recipe. I'm not one for loosemeat sandwhiches but this was so tasty and great!! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2003
I grew up in a little town in Ohio where there is a sandwich shop that's been there since the 40's that serves Maid Rites which are loose meat sandwiches. They won't give out the recipe but rumor has it that they are steamed in beer and a little sugar and mustard. I haven't been able to duplicate them but this isn't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINGQUEEN75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2005
I wish I could rate this higher, but my family just didn't like it. Neither my husband or son would eat it after a few bites, and threw theirs out. I hate to say it, but I ended up agreeing with them. Definitely salty tasting, so I would cut that back considerably. The flavor may have been improved by adding some of the ingredients mentioned in other reviews. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2005
This is good! Upon reading the other reviews I made the folowing adjustments. I added chopped onion to the mixture at the same time as adding the beer, etc. I also used a tablespoon of heinz tabasco flavored ketchup and a dash of cayenne pepper for some tang. It turned out to be very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2005
Good recipe Marty! Thanks for sharing.Some months back I tried my first Allrecipes Beer Chops recipe. Since then my knowledge for cooking, drinking etc...with beer has greatly changed. here are some facts to ponder on beer before cooking this recipe yourself. Is your favorite brand of beer a lager, ale or malt? You can not just run to the local store and grab the cheapest thing you find. You don't have to buy the most expensive either. The only thing you must do is adjust your flavors accordingly. The way you store your beer can have an effect not only on the drinking quality of beer, but cooking with it as well. A bottled beer tastes much different than a can beer. Storing a bottled beer on it's side can cause the yeast to oxidate with the cap. Always store your beer upright. Be careful when buying can beer. Always know the brand of beer is just fine to your palate and liking before cooking with it. Also, the less expensive beer will naturally have a higher salt taste than a more expensive beer. When using a less expensive beer adjust the measure of salt down for the recipe. I hope this review helps anyone who is willing to explore cooking with beer for this recipe and others. Best Dishes and Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States