Marty's Loosemeat Sandwich Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Love this recipe! It does take quite awhile for the beer to simmer off, but it's worth the wait and your house will smell great. :) I add onion and garlic while browning meat, and I throw in some cubed Velveeta (any cheese would be great) at the very end. The cheese makes it that much yummier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
Thought it was great! It was easy and made with simple ingredients (even a single college student probley has this in their fridg.) I did add onion and garlic, and insted of yellow mustard, I used dijon. I Loved It!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Pyewacket
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Halved the beer,doubled the sugar,omitted the salt. Hubby has a relative that owned a maid-rite store in Iowa for years. This recipe is good,but not quite maid-rite. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pyewacket

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Altus, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
This is a great start. Because of personal addiction, I added onion and garlic. Used grill seasoning instead of salt and pepper and honey in place of sugar. Add cheddar cheese, and this is comfort food that will make you wanna smack yo' mama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTaterPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Try this. Use the same recipe but instead of browning ground beef, Mix all ingredients together and cook in a double boiler or a heavy skillet over medium heat, stirring so the beef don't brown and all liquid has evaporated. The flavors lock together and the meat will be alot more moist. This will make more of the maid-rite texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danny V

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cherokee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I love it and so does my family! I am from the Quad Cities and they are known for their Maid Rite sandwiches. It is almost impossible to duplicate because there is a secret ingredient. This recipe replaces all of my other attempts at mastering the local favorite. I wouldn't make any changes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rock Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Viola, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I made these for my daughters birthday party over the weekend. I followed the recipe except I put them in the crock-pot & changed the recipe to serve 16. I think they could have used more sugar & had to much pepper. I used to live in a town in Ohio that has a Maid-Rite & this recipe is close. I will probaly make them again for another family get together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vandalia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Excellent and a nice change from traditional sloppy joe sandwiches. Made according to recipe except for adding about a teaspoon of ketchup and about a tablespoon of dried minced onion. Will make again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I did add a small amout of ketchup, onion and garlic. I also used good local beer. My hubby LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALASKA GIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Philly Cheesesteak Sandwich with Garlic Mayo

A tangy garlic mayo is the key to these easy steak sandwiches.

Sloppy Juan Sandwich

See how to put a spicy Mexican twist on the old sloppy joe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States