Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I doubled the recipe, but not the soup mix, and even still, it was definitely the predominate flavor. I added a can of corn, broth instead of water, some canned green beans, a handful of noodles, and some diced carrots, and a dash of worcestershire sauce. I also used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. Next time, I'll not put in the soup mix and see how it goes and just play around with the basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
One of the best soups I've ever had in my life. AFTER subbing beef broth for the water and adding some potatoes . Yummy yummy yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
First I followed the recipe then taste tested it. Found it good but a little flat and not much beef flavor. Easy fixes. First I added a bouillon cube, then added a splash of worstershire and soy sauces. It gave it the body that I needed. I found this soup to be a tasty and easy not to mention inexpensive. Thanks for a great starter recipe. Andrea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I use sodium reduction V8 juice and add a little Worcestershire sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I have debated whether to rate this 3 or 4 stars, and finally settled on 3 because as written it is rather bland. I added chopped onion and garlic to the beef as it browned, I used beef broth in place of the water, and I added crushed red pepper flakes. This helped, and it was a hearty and decent soup, but I feel it needs even more than these changes to make it great. Some red wine, maybe a potato or some pasta, and some additional spices would amp it up. I do think it is a great base recipe and it is easily adaptable- it just needs the addition of some pantry staples to make it worthwhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
We love this soup! We are a family of 5, so I always double it - 2lbs ground beef, 16oz frozen mixed veggies, 1 packet onion soup mix, 3 cups water & the other ingredients doubled. I also like to use petite diced tomatoes (drained) in place is the stewed tomatoes. We like it with cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JamieB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Really enjoyed it. I would add more liquid and use a couple cups of beef broth, cook it about 10 minutes longer to get the frozen veggies nice and done (or use all canned with their juice) and try other commenters' suggestions to cook onion and fresh garlic with the meat and maybe add a teaspoon of worcestershire. Husband loves it just as it's written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MountainGrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
It was delicious! Worked out really well, but I used beef stock instead of water, used fresh vegetables instead of frozen ones (doing this takes longer for them to cook) such as celery carrots, peas, and potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I have made this twice now. Added potatoes both times and crushed tomatoes instead of tomato sauce or stewed tomatoes (not a fan of chunks of tomatoes in soup). First time used ground hamburger and dry onion soup mix, second time used beefy onion dry soup mix and leftover roast. Personally prefer the beefy onion as there was no need to add a bouillon cube or broth as others suggested. Great recipe, perfect for what I was looking for, as cans of soup have way too much sodium per serving and I was looking for a healthier alternative. Nothing ever seems to taste as good as grandma's for some reason but this was sure close!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Made this what I had on hand and agree with others the base is good with exception of using the beef broth in place of water. I also used fresh vegetable instead of frozen (except peas) since we prefer those. Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States