Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This was really good soup, however I don't really care for the taste of adding soup mix to stuff, so I used some finely chopped onions and beef broth. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Swidgen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Only thing keeping me from giving this 4 stars is my mom's vegetable-beef soup (slow-cooked with stew meat, barley and just about every vegetable you care to name). Having said that, thought it was very good for a quick-cook soup option. Will definitely make this one again and play around with it a bit. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Great soup! We add garlic and onion while browning beef. Then use beef broth instead of water. We add 2 potoatoes and 2 small carrots cubed. Frozen peas and corn. Very tastey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
Fast, easy, flavorful! Made mine with beef & diced onions, beef broth instead of water, and a frozen veggie mix of peas/carrots/corn/green beans in addition to all the other ingredients. Only issue was the onion soup mix I used (walmart) was very salty. Next time I will use either half the walmart variety or try a different brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I also instead of water added 1 can of beef broth and doubled the meat with garlic and onion. I'm wondering if I should have added 2 cans of beef broth instead of 1. I like mine more like soup than stew I guess. Also, I had to add salt and pepper for more flavor. I did enjoy this though and next time I will try with 2 cans of beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Easy and delicious! I also used beef broth and left out the whole tomatoes for my kids. I'll be fixing this a lot during the winters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
I needed some help with with supper tonight and was glad I found this recipe. Doubled the beef and browned with garlic, used 2cups water, 2 beef bouillon cubes, few baby portabellas and canned mushrooms, frozen peas and corn. This can be altered in so many ways!! Tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
This was fantastic soup!! As recommended by other users I substituted beef broth for the water and sauteed onions & garlic with the ground beef. Instead of mixed vegetables (not a fan) I added corn, green beans & potatoes. Also used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. My husband suggested green chili's next time . . . and there will DEFINITELY be a next time with this recipe! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmlionhunter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Del Norte, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
My husband was a little leary of the hamburger meat in the soup but ended up really loving it, I;ve made it many times since and have improvised every time. I use a base of frozen mixed vegies but add whatever I have in the frig. Great dinner with a loaf of french bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
So Good! This cleaned my fridge out of leftovers! I added left over pot roast instead of ground beef, chopped carrots, celery, half a mayan onion and garlic. I also added 1 Tbl italian seasoning, speghetti sauce since I didn't have any tomato sauce. The diced tomatos came out of my freezer from this year's crop. I simmered for hour and the last 20 minutes I added frozen peas. Served with fruit salad (had to get some fruit on the table with a 2 year old!), garlic bread and a baked potato for my husband since he is not a big soup eater. Everyone in the family loved it, turned out more like stew than soup - but it tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELA43

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States