Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Closest so far to my grandmas simple recipe! She used 1 lb gr beef cooked, 2 cans tomato soup, 1 can kidney beans drained, 2 cans alphabet soup, 2 cans mixed vegetables,chopped onion and water. Have thrown together those ingredients for years but didn't have all of them on hand so I tried this recipe and enjoyed it Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I did not expect to like this, but I am sooo glad I tried it anyways. The onion soup mix and dash of sugar really make it special. I used a pound of stew meat instead of the ground beef and browned it with onion and garlic. I threw it in the crock pot with beef broth instead of water and added a couple of diced red potatoes. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hope, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Quick, easy, healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great Beginnings ~ I as able to use this recipe and add in almost anything I wanted. My family loved it and so easy to whip together for that night you don't know what to make. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I thought this was just so-so. I felt like it was missing something. It was kinda bland. I made it pretty much as written, except I didn't have stewed tomatoes, so I used diced. And I added a couple beef bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I do make quite a few changes to this soup. First, I use Beef Stock instead of water. I use ground turkey instead of beef, and I add one can of rinsed Kidney beans and one chopped up potato. I substituted diced tomatoes for stewed. I also add indivdually my own mix of frozen veggies. After browning the meat I put it all in a Crock Pot to cook all day on low. Definately put it on High for 4-5 hours if you can't cook it all day. The longer it cooks the better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haley Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I use 1lb. ground beef and sometimes more sugar than called for originally. This is one of my favorite soups to cook because of taste and simplicity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MustLoveFood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Dorado, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. The onion soup was overpowering to say the least. I even added the garlic, fresh onion and beef bouillon others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Very good base, had to add more seasonings to make it fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovebeingamom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I sauteed 1/4 cup red onion with the beef, substituted italian style stewed tomatoes, used beef broth instead of water. delicious, easy and a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.changeofsceneweddings.com

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States