Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This was easy and you should smell my kitchen! Mmmmmm, and it tasted delicious. I used a lb. of meat and cooked it with season all and a dab of minced garlic. I used 1 and 1/2 envelopes of beefy onion soup mix and didn't measure to see if it was 1/4 c. or not. Half chicken broth and half water, and a 10 oz. can of cream of tomato soup since I didn't have sauce. I also tossed in a couple of small potatoes diced up. This did require more liquid than called for so I added more broth and more water (another cup of each) then simmered it. And because I just had to, I tossed in a bay leaf and a little fresh ground black pepper. My husband gave this 5 stars and is definitely taking the leftovers for lunch. He loves soup and really raved on this one. Thanks for such a versatile and easily adaptable recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
This soup was so easy, and probably the best veggie soup I have ever eaten. I meant to follow the directions more closely, but the end product still came out fabulous. I substituted tomato soup for tomato sauce, and didn't have the frozen veggie mix on hand so I subbed a can of corn, 2 diced potatoes, 1 cup each of frozen green beans and peas, and shredded carrots. I used beef broth instead of water as well. The key to this soup's flavor is the onion soup mix, I used two packets (because I increased veggies) of beefy onion soup mix (Kroger brand) and added a little water as well. The result was perfect, not too much of a tomato flavor like some soups, but more of a rich beefy onion flavored broth. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Made this using frozen stew veggies. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
I loved this ! It was cheap and easy and delicious. I will make in the again and again. I diddnt use frozen veggies though, just carrots onions and potatoes. I also split the onion mix with the savory herb and garlic soup mix and it rocked.. cooked for an hour and a half. In future Ill saute celery with my onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loveearth2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is the first thing I made on all recipes. My mom is in hospice and is losing her ability to swallow. So, her options on what she can eat are pretty limited. This was WONDERFUL! She absolutely loved it! Making this soup is what got me hooked to this website, so thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
My family loved it - the only thing I did differently was add peppers & green beans to the mix and beef broth because I had on hand. Very good - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Five star ease with a 3 star taste. Mostly 'cause the onion soup mix stayed too prominent. An excellent duo with Beef Noodle Shepherd's Pie -- they have similar ingredients, one with tomato, one with potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was my very first time making soup, but I am SO glad I chose this recipe! I took suggestions from other reviewers and used beef broth, I also added 1/4 cup of milk and a few tablespoons of cornstarch just to make it a little thicker, and it was the perfect consistency. I'll definitely be keeping this recipe around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
Here's my version, which woke up a man from a deep sleep it smelled so good! 1.25 pounds ground 85% Angus beef, browned in 2 tbs olive oil and 4 cloves garlic, chopped -- 4 boxes of organic beef broth (32 oz. each) 3 boxes Green Giant 'Healthy Vision' frozen veggies (carrots, green beans, zucchini in a rosemary butter sauce) 1 box chopped frozen spinach 1 small bag of frozen pearl onions 1 small can white kidney beans (rinsed) 1 small can diced tomatoes w/ green chilies 1 envelope onion soup mix 1 teaspoon honey ground pepper, Kosher salt, dried parsley, Italian seasoning to taste 3 cups cooked penne, added after soup has simmered for an hour or so and add filtered water as need during simmering. Took me 15 minutes to put together. YUM! So easy and makes a nice big batch. Serve with warm garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Closest so far to my grandmas simple recipe! She used 1 lb gr beef cooked, 2 cans tomato soup, 1 can kidney beans drained, 2 cans alphabet soup, 2 cans mixed vegetables,chopped onion and water. Have thrown together those ingredients for years but didn't have all of them on hand so I tried this recipe and enjoyed it Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States