Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Really good. I gave it five stars, though I made it with some modifications. I also added beef broth instead of water, like so many others, and added a bit of rotini noodles in. I did end up with a package of meat that was close to a pound and a half, that I cooked with some sauteed onions and garlic. I added a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes instead of stewed, and a small can of paste, then added only the two cups of broth. I guess mine came out a lot thicker than intended--I think I added more veggies than recommended too, but didn't measure. Put some ciabatta bread on the side, and it was a hit. My picky kids liked it too. (Someone else said that in their review, but I was skeptical.) I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
I made this soup today, very easy, quick and delicious. I added a few things after reading other reviews. I used ground turkey, added some chopped onion, green pepper and garlic when browning. Also used beef broth instead of water, and added a bay leaf and one dried chili pepper while simmering. I will be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Haiku: "So easy to make! Nice comforting bowl of soup. Simmer for longer." I pretty much stuck to Martha's recipe, only taking a hint here or there from some reviews, such as swapping water for beef broth, and adding garlic and onion to the beef as it browned. Oh, and I unintentionally used mexican-seasoned stewed tomatoes, and was happy w/ that. (I think I'd have preferred diced tomatoes instead though, since the stewed, while tasty, are just such a mouthful!) The soup is MUCH better w/ a longer simmer. I had a taste at the directed 20 min. and liked it fine, but let it sit even longer, and it was tastier. W/ a sprinkle of parm on top, we slurped up our bowls declaring it a keeper, a great soup for doubling and freezing batches for the cold nights to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The first time I made this soup, I used leftover browned ground beef. To make up for no drippings, I sauteed onions in bacon grease, then added the vegetables and cooked until thawed and sizzling. Finally, I added the rest of the ingredients and followed the recipe. Except, I didn't have tomato juice, so I added 3-4 tablespoons of tomato paste. The second time, I followed the recipe exactly as written. My husband & I both agreed that the vegetables were more tender the first time. Next time, I'll add cooking the veggies a little as a preliminary step. Also, the tomato paste added a richer flavor. Not a more tomatoey flavor, but more depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was OK. The best thing about it was it was easy. I would make this again if I was in a hurry to throw something together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I do not eat meat so I altered it a bit. I had soy ground "beef" I used veggie broth instead of water, added two potatoes and carrots. In addition the mixed frozen veggies, I added some frozen spinach and a bit of time and black pepper. It was amazing, quick, and easy!!! I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
This is a fast and easy recipe. I had to use a variety of canned, frozen, and fresh veggies due to what was on hand. Added barley that had already been cooked in beef broth. Used a whole pound of ground beef, forgot the can of tomato sauce, and added salt and pepper and about 1 T of worcestershire sauce. Also used beef broth instead of water. This is a good recipe that can be tweaked to your preferences and what you have on hand. This was my first time ever making soup with ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I made this soup for a dinner at church and everyone loved it. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deathbycanon
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was really good. I sautéed some onion with the hamburger. I was out of stewed tomatoes so I just used a can of reg old diced ones, and I completely forgot the sugar but didn't miss it at all. The soup had fantastic flavor and was a great way to use up all of those little left over bags of veggies I Had in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deathbycanon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Was good Soup. I did use beef broth in place of water, and onion in place of onion soup mix, didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States