Martha's Vegetable Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Although I followed another reviewer's suggestions and added onion and garlic to the meat and potatoes to the soup, I am giving this recipe five stars because it is still a great recipe on its own while it lends itself to making changes to suit one's own tastes. My husband was sick and wanted vegetable beef soup for dinner, and although I had never made homemade soup in my life, I decided to make some instead of using the usual canned stuff. I am very glad I did - both my husband and I gobbled up our bowls. Thank you for such an easy, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This was a great soup! I used 2 cans of low sodium beef broth instead of water, chopped up a small yellow onion to brown with 1 lb of ground beef and seasoned the beef with garlic powder and pepper. All the other ingredients I left the same except I did add a 1/2 cup of Marsala wine. It was a delicious, hearty soup! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAISYTAZZY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
I've tried several vegetable beef soup recipes over the years, but this is by far my favorite! It is super easy to make, and it tastes delicious. It works well when doubled or tripled for a crowd. I usually make it only for my husband and me, but I double it and freeze the leftovers for future use. I do not use the dry onion soup mix because nearly all soup mixes contain some form of MSG. Instead, I simply use 1/4 cup of dried minced onion and onion powder combined (per batch). I like to add 1/4 cup of pearl barley (per batch) during the last hour of cooking in the crock pot, but the recipe is just fine without the barley, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by user

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spring Hill, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
Great recipes as is. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
This soup is FANTASTIC! It is SO easy and is now a quick "go to" meal for a cold weeknight in Chicago. I double the recipe so there is plenty to take in my little crock pot to work the next day for lunch. YUM! Thanks Martha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Green Jozwiak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
This recipe is good. It's even better when you add your own personal touch. Like others, I used diced tomatoes & beef broth, then added Worcester sauce, garlic, & a small onion. I used flank steak instead of ground beef (I was cleaning out my freezer). I served corn bread on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Let me start off by saying my six year-old actually told me she loved this and she's not a soup lover. Then my husband ate two huge bowls and raved about it. I omited the sugar and it stil l worked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Delicious I don't usually comment or leave feed back. This was so good I had to my husband had 3 bowls and my picky 8 year old ate a whole big bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom_of_4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
I doubled the recipe, but not the soup mix, and even still, it was definitely the predominate flavor. I added a can of corn, broth instead of water, some canned green beans, a handful of noodles, and some diced carrots, and a dash of worcestershire sauce. I also used diced tomatoes instead of stewed. Next time, I'll not put in the soup mix and see how it goes and just play around with the basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
One of the best soups I've ever had in my life. AFTER subbing beef broth for the water and adding some potatoes . Yummy yummy yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaCate's personal chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States