Martha's Magic Meat Rub Pork Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Made this for an 8 lb boston butt pork roast (doubled the quantities), and just laid regular onion slices and bacon over the top (didn't butterfly/tie up). Cooked it in a pyrex casserole dish in the oven for 2 hours at 400, covered with foil for the first 1 1/2 hours. It was AMAZING, and all my guests raved about it. I'm definitely doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2005
I couldn't find the adobo seasoning in the store so I used a recipe I found on the internet to make the adobo. I rubbed in the spices and let the roast sit in the frig for 2 days. I increased the bacon slices and green onions to 12 each. I laid 6 slices of bacon out, put 6 green onions perpendicular to the bacon slices, laid the pork roast on top of the onions, put 6 more green onions on the roast going the same direction as the bottom ones, covered it with 6 bacon slices, and tied it up. I cooked it in a covered pan on the grill and uncovered it the last 15 minutes to brown the roast and bacon. It is a beautiful presentation and the taste is superb. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Absolutely perfect! This is my go to rub for pork, chicken breasts, and even venison. Can't go wrong with this mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This was the best pork roast ever! Omited celery salt and green onions, because I was out. Made adobo out of 4 cloves garlic, 1 tsp. dried oregano, 1 tsp. black peppercorns, 1/2 tsp. paprika, and 1 tsp. salt. put in small processor until a paste was formed. Very good pared with mashed potatoes, green salad and Clos du Bois Shiraz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Swanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Bragg, California, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
Really good. I made an 8lb bone-i roast, and doubled the quantities here. Don't have a grill, so put it in the oven (covered with foil) at 350F for about 2.5 hours (til the internal temp was 160ish). Came out moist, tender and really tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This is a great recipe, thank you for sharing! I use the rub part of it on any kind of meat, not just pork roast - steaks, lamb chops, etc. Rub the spice mix on the meat, marinate for a few hours and grill. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pelicangal
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was very good. I just expected a little more out of it. The spices seemed as if they would really compliment the pork but when I pulled it out of the oven, all of the spice flavor was in the juice in the pan. It did not stay on the meat. Although my picture does not show it I did butterfly the meat, although I used regular white onion istead of green onion because that is what I had. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
It was good although as most, I did mine slightly different. I direct grilled it at first with a little apple wood just enough to brown it and give it the grilled flavor. Then I put it in a foil container and covered it with foil onto indirect heat to finish. Juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sandwich, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States