Martha's Hot Almond Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years...got it from a magazine ad. To solve the problems listed above: the original recipe called for 3 tablespoons (equals about 1) green onion, and ONE CUP of grated swiss cheese -- this will eliminate the density/over cheesiness. (One liquid cup equals 8 FLUID ounces, but for solids, like the cheese, use JUST ONE CUP of the cheese...I also toast the almonds lightly before hand and mix 1/2 of them into the dip before baking, then garnish with the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Always a hit with every body. I make it up, frig it then bake later..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This is my "go to" appetizer when I need something yummy and easy. The flavor combination of swiss cheese and almonds is wonderful, and this dip is always one of the first of the empty dishes on the appetizer table. I serve it with Wheat Thins or any other similar cracker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Quite a hit! Disappeared almost as soon as I put it out. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Found this recipe this morning for a party tonight. Was wonderful, followed recipe exactly... 10 people and the result was will you bring this again next year!! Yes I will, thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Excellent flavor but sets very quickly as it cools. This needs to be kept over a heat source so that you can spread it. You may want to toast the almonds in the microwave before hand as I did not find the cooking time long enough to properly toast the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
Made this for Thanksgiving. It was the first appetizer gone. Everyone loved it. I toasted the almonds before adding it to the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Seemed like the cheeze didn't melt evenly, so it was stringy. Still, pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This is the appetizer you want when you are trying to come up with something "different." It comes out in such large glops that you may wish to double the recipe. I will the next time I make it. Down the road, I will experiment with dried cranberries or diced bacon, as others have suggested. The flavor, though wonderful, is not pronounced. Adding these other ingredients may elevate the flavor another notch or two.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Always good for a party. You can add some garlic powder as well. I use a small oblong glass pan to heat it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lons65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pike Creek, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

Hot Pizza Dip

All your favorite pizza ingredients in an easy, cheesy microwaved dip.

Hot Crab Dip

See how to make a rich and creamy hot crab dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States