Martha's Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
This was great! I made it last night to test before Thankgiving. I used ONLY cornbread, no biscuits. This required 3 boxes of Jiffy. I only used five eggs (because that was all I had) and I sauteed the onions and celery before adding them. Also, I used a can of chicken broth (a small can). I baked in one dish for 50 minutes. My daughter has NEVER liked dressing before but she LOVED this!!! This is a definite keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
This was a great traditional cornbread dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
Fabulous recipe. I used Jiffy brand cornbread, made my own bisquits, added minced garlic and jalepenos to jazz it up a little. Don't hold back on the salt and pepper either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Satsuma, Alabama, USA
Living In: Covington, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Great recipe! Will make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
This is an excellent dressing recipe. I like the addition of the cream of chicken. I add sausage instead of chicken and you just gotta add more sage! I also like using garlic cheese biscuits instead of plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
It was okay. Not as good as I expected, based on all the comments. Being from south Georgia, I have grown up on cornbread dressing and this was not nearly what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cochran, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I made this for my first Thanksgiving..It was good, but I think it needed more seasoning
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
Thank you for this recipe! Everyone raved about it at Thanksgiving. I added the onions and celery to the cornbread mixture and baked together. I added two biscuits with five pieces of toasted bread and used some canned chicken broth along with some chicken bouillon mixed with water and seasoned with salt, pepper and poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This dressing is sooo good! It was my 1st time ever to make dressing and it turned out great! I only had 3 eggs so I add half a can of cream of celery soup... I also just used leftover turkey meat and 3/4 a can of chicken broth! Even my Grandmother said it was Amazing!!! Guess I'll be making the family dressing from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Thanks for a great recipe! This was so easy that even I got it right! Folks who normally won't eat dressing went back for seconds and there no leftovers. A tip for those like me who need "paint by number" instructions... where the recipe says "soak" and doesn't say how much, I used 2.5 Cups. And, one recipe (one pie tin) of cornbread was about 5 cups. Also, there are so many different types of "biscuits" from buttered to buttermilk... I used a store brand (HEB) frozen pack labeled "Biscuits Southern Style" rather than the pack labeled buttery or buttermilk. Not sure how much difference that made. Yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Woodward

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cedar Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States