Martha's Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
This is a basic bare bones Southern dressing recipe. Few things to keep in mind, the cornbread (add extra eggs to the cornbread while making) and biscuits need to be cooked a day or two in advance to allow them to stale. I also crumble up stale white bread and sub poultry seasoning for the sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Alabama, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
This is the closest thing my family has ever found to my grandmother's dressing. She always made it every Thanksgiving and Christmas, but she passed away suddenly a few years ago, and no one knew the recipe! We have tried to duplicate it several times before, and this is the closest we have tasted! I use the biscuits you buy in the freezer section, and just some dry cornbread dressing mix (not the way grandma made it, I'm sure) and it still reminds me of her every holiday. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Not one I'll make again. I made both the cornbread and biscuits from scratch, but did leave out the chicken, since I was serving both turkey and ham for Christmas dinner. Not knowing how much broth to add was very confusing ... I had puddles in the dish before baking, but it turned out very dry. Maybe we're all too used to northern style bread dressing to know what cornbread dressing should taste like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this for a work party and it was really good...a little too much cornbread for my taste, so next time I think I will do half biscuits/half cornbread. I also put it in my crockpot while at work to keep it warm and moist...just added a little chicken stock. Yummy and really easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I have FINALLY found my cornbread dressing recipe. I always dreaded making stuffing at Thanksgiving, but not anymore. It's easy to make too. I followed the recipe except I used canned chicken broth. My family really liked it and that makes it a keeper for me. Anyone looking for a cornbread dressing recipe can stop looking with this one. Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This recipe was fantastic! Very cheap to make too, since I used up leftover cornbread and biscuits to make it. I scled the recipe to make 5 servings (still put it in a 9x13 pan and it yielded about 8 servings for us) I didn't make a chicken, I just combined the other ingredients, put it in a 9x13 pan and poured 1 can of chicken broth over the top of it. I baked it at 350 for 1 hour - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Bake real cornbread with celery and onions first. Crumble and add all these ingredients plus a can of cream of celery soup and lots of poultry seasonings instead of just sage. Be sure the raw dressing is a liquid consistency before baking. It will be creamy and great!! Better double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti'sPantry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA
Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
This dressing was a hit at my dinnertable. I should have doubled up on the recipe because there was absolutely no leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
This dressing was a complete success!! I had never made dressing before and loved to eat it. Being out of town this year for Thanksgiving, I decided it was time to try it own my own. This recipe is the same as one I was given from a great cook. Everything is the same, but I didn't use the chicken. I used chicken broth. I also used toasted white bread instead of biscuits. The dressing was very moist and full of taste. I was so proud of myself!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
Thank you for this recipe, it is excellent. I've make it just as written but I've also substituted more cornbread for some/all of the biscuits. Either way, it's wonderful and it freezes perfectly. Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Holiday Dressing

This savory dressing stars pork sausage and corn bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States