Martha's Cornbread Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Maybe I'm just not a fan of it, but no one else liked it either. Disappointing! Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tenino, Washington, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
This is my go-to dressing recipe. In fact I'm making it for a potluck this weekend. The recipe is excellent as is but I usually add a diced green bell pepper and substitute 4 tsps of rubbed sage for the ground sage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGRICHRDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
i have a question I've made dressing for years but i have never used bread in it what does that do?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
I cute this down to 4-5 servings. I didn't have any biscuits so I used all cornbread (homemade; "Homesteader Cornbread" from AR). I was out of any kind of "cream of" soup so I made my own (plain + seasonings) using "Cream Soup Base" from AR. Skipped the salt since the soup was salty enough on its own. I used more sage than called for and added hot chili powder. I also used some homemade chicken stock and a bit of water to moisten the cornbread. Added some frozen veggie mix too. It still came out dry, and not very flavourful despite using homemade ingredients (that tasted good on their own though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This is a solid recipe. Everyone liked it. I used chicken and apple sausage instead of the chicken, and as another reviewer suggested, 2.5 cups of chicken stock to soak the dressing in. I also sauteed the onion and celery with the chicken sausage beforehand. Very easy to put together, as long as you make the biscuits and cornbread a few days in advance and have those in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganEscondido

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Escondido, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Yep, this is the one. The one that tastes like the cornbread dressing mama ALWAYS made every Thanksgiving and Christmas. None of that crazy stuff in my dressing. Just give me the plain old-fashioned simple Southern goodness like this recipe is. Thanks so much for posting it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keyslammer
Home Town: Canton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is the recipe I have used for the past few years. We were given it by a lady called Martha and I wonder if it is the same person that this one is named after. Anyway, it is delicious. I have never had any problems getting the consistency right and the flavor is always perfect. You should find when you are ready to put it in the pan that it has a consistency similar to cake batter. The only change I have ever made is to cook my celery and onions an little before adding so that there is no crunch once it is done. My VERY picky husband gets so excited when I tell him I am making this. I don't think I will have a Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner without it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
TIPS: For upping the flavor factor..... When making this recipe during Thanksgiving and Christmas, we use meat from the turkey rather than from a whole chicken. We also use 1 cup chopped bell pepper. But the SECRET TRICK to making the recipe phenomenal in terms of flavor is to use a chopped yellow onion and add it to the crumbled cornbread immediately after it comes out of the oven. Just add the chopped onion, cover and let it rest for about 5 minutes before adding the remaining ingredients. The steam from the hot cornbread allows the onion flavor (and other ingredients) to soak into the cornbread. Mmmm!!! We also add a cup or two of turkey stock directly from the cooked turkey for added flavor! This is very similar to my grandmother's recipe which has been passed down for years! Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
The dressing that saved Thanksgiving!! Thank you, it was just like the dressing my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marion, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
This was amazing. I chose this stuffing recipe simply because I happened to have a whole chicken in the freezer that someone gave us, and I wanted to put it to good use. Instead of just boiling the chicken plain, I used the "Boiled Chicken" recipe from this site. I also used the "Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread" recipe for the cornbread, but I was lazy with the biscuits and just used the kind from the can. The only change I made was adding a bit of chopped fresh sage in addition to the ground sage. Next time I will probably omit the ground sage and just increase the amount of fresh. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Southern Cornbread Dressing

This rich Southern dressing includes chicken and eggs.

Corn & Porcini Mushroom Cornbread Dressing

See the accidentally best cornbread dressing ever.

Cornbread Stuffing

Learn how to make a simple baked cornbread stuffing that’s perfect with poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States