Martha Washington Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2004
Awesome cookies! I used Eggwhites and had trouble with getting a the mixture to stiffen, and so my consistency reminded me a bit of peanut brittle. BUT, the cookies were still awesome tasting and this recipe will be introduced to my cookie colelction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
I haven't cooked a lot with egg whites and my first attempt at these cookies was a complete flop. The second time around I beat the egg whites well past "foamy" stage and continued beating until they peaked. That seemed to work much better. One I began adding other ingrediants, the peaks seemed to break down. I recommend beating the egg whites all the way to peak or stiff peak and then mixing as little as possible once you begin adding the brown sugar, etc. Overall a super easy recipe... once you get the eggs right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Oh my, these were wonderful! I didn't have any pecans so they came out basically as meringue made with brown sugar. To make them a bit "fancier" I piped them on the parchment paper (I used zip log bag). The weather was humid and I was worried they'd lose their crunch but they were so delicious even when a bit sticky, reminding me of taffy. Everyone loved them. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virpi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MknBknGma
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
This cookie got better after it sat out a couple hours after baking. It tasted a bit salty so I will probably put less next time, also I added bit of cream of tartar to the egg whites and it turned out pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MknBknGma

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Farmington, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
These have become a favorite at Christmas; particularly for my dad who can only eat glutin-free foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KINGALEX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Front Royal, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
These are fabulous! I made some with chocolate chips instead of pecans, and they were delicious! Make sure you don't over bake them though and take them off the pan as soon as they come out, or they will stick. I love to try new things and these are a GREAT thing to make if you want to try something a little differerent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
These turned out great! So easy to make with just a few ingredients. Yes they take a long time to bake but if you have the time, why not? Very very light. I will be making them again with the only change being I will be sure to spray the pan liner since a few did stick when removing them. I also got more cookies than it said, 24 good sized cookies rather than the 18. Usually I end up with less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I used Ideal zero-calorie brown sugar as a substitute with amazing results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
These are easy to make. I wouldn't make them again only because they take an HOUR to bake. Most cookies take 8-10 minutes. I brought them to church for coffee service though and they all got consumed. One of my kids loved them and another hated them. Go figure. I thought they were good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
The taste of the cookies was good but not worth the stress of making them. I'm not sure where I went wrong but the dough was very fluid and did not make cookies. Letting the batter sit in the fridge did not help at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States