Martha Washington Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
This was very good. But, it would not set. I had to double the powdered sugar. Maybe, next time I will try 1/2 the butter and use real butter. I might try to add chocolate chips to the batter rather than dip it in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I love this recipe, but found the chocolate hard to work with, added 1-2 teaspoons shortening and voile! easy dipping, also froze candies before dipping and left toothpicks in each individual candy until set and filled in any holes with additional chocolate. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Made these with a few changes. Added an extra cup of powdered sugar, and they didn't turn out too wet. Just right! Didn't want to get my hands dirty or have the heat of my hands affect the butter and make it runny, so I used a melon baller and dropped them on the wax paper. Turned out perfect little balls! Easy as pie! Quick too. Also dipped the first few of them completely in chocolate, but thought it was way too chocolaty...overpowering the rest of the candy. So, the remainder, about 80% of them only got the bottom half dipped in chocolate, then I drizzles a small amount on the top of the candies for decoration. Looked very pretty. I didn't think they took quite as long to make as everyone else did. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us Willi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This was the second year I made these for the holidays. Everyone loves them! They are time consuming, but worth it. I put the shaped balls in the freezer before dipping and it helped them hold shape longer. I found dipping these works best if you use a double boiler and keep chocolate at a constant low temp rather then microwaving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I tried this to include in some holiday goodie baskets. I've never made candy before, so maybe that was part of the problem. It just didn't seem that these ever got quite firm enough, no matter how long I chilled them. Then I had the worst time trying to dip them in the melted chocolate. I assumed you are suppose to cover the whole thing when dipping. I couldn't because the toothpick would not hold them and the chocolate would just stick all over them and weigh them down and then they would get mushy and come apart. I ended up just dipping one end of them in the chocolate. Good flavor but I must be missing a technique on how to deep in warm chocolate because it was a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
I have made this heavenly candy for YEARS and they turn out perfect everytime. My recipe calls for two boxes of confectioners sugar (instead of four cups)so maybe that is why mine never comes out "soupy", "thin", etc. Try it, you'll love it. Note: I also use 1/4 pound of parafin melted in the chocolate which makes the coating perfect with a slight shine very pretty).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
the kids really don't get fast enough results but the time and effort are well worth the wait for the chilling required. delicious!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
this recipe tasted good, but I do not know how you ever get it to form into balls, I chilled it for 36 hrs, and it was still like gooey, instead of rolling into balls, I spread the mix into a jelly roll pan and then spread the chocolate on top and cut into squares and wrapped in wax paper. I won't make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
I live above 5000 feet and found that this recipe DID NOT do well at all. The mixture never chilled to "firm" even after 2 days. It was a very soupy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
very , very good candy!!! wrap it in tiny colored pieces of plastic wrap......looks & tastes gourmet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States