Martha Washington Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I have been looking for the exact recipe of Martha Washingtons since I was about 16, I have re-made them but no recipe was exactly alike until this one, Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I just wish I knew the history of how they got their name. I think they are the best candy for christmas and I now add white chocolate strewn over the top for a little elegance. Thank you again they are the best,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAPLANTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I agree with the other reviewers comments on this recipe. I too have had this recipe for years, but the ingredients are different. Mine is with 1/2 c. butter and 2 boxes of powdered sugar and then there is no problem with it being firm enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Great candy! Everyone loves them and always asks for the recipe. Takes a little time to make but well worth it! These are the changes I made. Double the powdered sugar. Use a small spring release scoop sprayed with Pam. Freeze for several hours or overnight. Keep chocolate warm not hot. I use milk chocolate chips. Only work on dipping about 10 at a time. Once the chocolate is set, remove the toothpick. I decorated the top of mine with drizzled almond bark(covers the toothpick hole) and they are beautiful each time. Thank You Willi for this wonderful addition to my Holiday candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
If you will freeze the cream mixture before balling and then again after balling and only get a few out at a time to dip they will stay firm better for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Easy to make. My only problem is that following this recipe, they never get firm. I have had them in the freezer for a couple hours now and still no go when I take them out to dip them. I'm going to try adding a cup more of sugar and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I should've read the reviews before making these. I tried letting the coconut balls set overnight. they flattened out in my freezer. If you're reading this and considering making these, please follow the other reviewer's advice about adding more powdered sugar!! I was making these for my mom's birthday, but won't be giving her these now. I'll try to salvage them somehow for around the house, because the coconut mixture tastes heavenly. I will just be sure to use more powdered sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
This was very good. But, it would not set. I had to double the powdered sugar. Maybe, next time I will try 1/2 the butter and use real butter. I might try to add chocolate chips to the batter rather than dip it in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
I love this recipe, but found the chocolate hard to work with, added 1-2 teaspoons shortening and voile! easy dipping, also froze candies before dipping and left toothpicks in each individual candy until set and filled in any holes with additional chocolate. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
Made these with a few changes. Added an extra cup of powdered sugar, and they didn't turn out too wet. Just right! Didn't want to get my hands dirty or have the heat of my hands affect the butter and make it runny, so I used a melon baller and dropped them on the wax paper. Turned out perfect little balls! Easy as pie! Quick too. Also dipped the first few of them completely in chocolate, but thought it was way too chocolaty...overpowering the rest of the candy. So, the remainder, about 80% of them only got the bottom half dipped in chocolate, then I drizzles a small amount on the top of the candies for decoration. Looked very pretty. I didn't think they took quite as long to make as everyone else did. Thank you for sharing this recipe with us Willi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sulphur, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Hampton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2003
This was the second year I made these for the holidays. Everyone loves them! They are time consuming, but worth it. I put the shaped balls in the freezer before dipping and it helped them hold shape longer. I found dipping these works best if you use a double boiler and keep chocolate at a constant low temp rather then microwaving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States