Martha Washington Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These were actually very good. I did not give the recipe 5 stars because I made some alterations as other reviewers suggested. I only used 1 stick of BUTTER, and 1 box (or 1 lb.) of sugar. They came out the perfect consistency. Once I balled them out, I placed them in the freezer for about an hour before dipping them in chocolate. Not too pretty, but very tasty! I might try the melon baller thing the next time. Thanks for the recipe, Willi. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ecolter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I also make this w/ a stick of real butter - not margarine and 2 boxes of confectioner's sugar. No problems with not being firm enough. I use dipping chocolate rather than melted chocolate chips. I also make these up in advance and freeze (before dipping). I freeze on a cookie sheet that I've lined w/ waxed paper. When they are frozen, I transfer to a zipper freezer bag. I dip as needed all holiday season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
These are delicious. My mom and I made these one year when I was a kid and I remember loving them. So, when I saw this recipe, I was excited to try it. I always read reviews before I make anything, and so I saw to decrease the butter (and I did use butter instead of margarine) and up the powdered sugar and they were excellent. I gave these out in a candy assortment for Christmas gifts and they were a huge hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRISTYDAWNE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Georgia, USA
Living In: Mount Airy, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
Like many others, this recipie is in fact quite tasty, but it would NOT SET!!! It was very frustrating as I kept upping the amount of Confectioner's Sugar, but to no avail! It was also really sweet, but I should have known that coming in with the Condensed Milk. The only thing that stops me from rating it too poorly is the pecans, which gave it a good kick. Buy yourself like two boxes of confectioners and REAL butter if you are going to make this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I have been looking for the exact recipe of Martha Washingtons since I was about 16, I have re-made them but no recipe was exactly alike until this one, Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. I just wish I knew the history of how they got their name. I think they are the best candy for christmas and I now add white chocolate strewn over the top for a little elegance. Thank you again they are the best,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DONNAPLANTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
I agree with the other reviewers comments on this recipe. I too have had this recipe for years, but the ingredients are different. Mine is with 1/2 c. butter and 2 boxes of powdered sugar and then there is no problem with it being firm enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Great candy! Everyone loves them and always asks for the recipe. Takes a little time to make but well worth it! These are the changes I made. Double the powdered sugar. Use a small spring release scoop sprayed with Pam. Freeze for several hours or overnight. Keep chocolate warm not hot. I use milk chocolate chips. Only work on dipping about 10 at a time. Once the chocolate is set, remove the toothpick. I decorated the top of mine with drizzled almond bark(covers the toothpick hole) and they are beautiful each time. Thank You Willi for this wonderful addition to my Holiday candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
If you will freeze the cream mixture before balling and then again after balling and only get a few out at a time to dip they will stay firm better for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2004
Easy to make. My only problem is that following this recipe, they never get firm. I have had them in the freezer for a couple hours now and still no go when I take them out to dip them. I'm going to try adding a cup more of sugar and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I should've read the reviews before making these. I tried letting the coconut balls set overnight. they flattened out in my freezer. If you're reading this and considering making these, please follow the other reviewer's advice about adding more powdered sugar!! I was making these for my mom's birthday, but won't be giving her these now. I'll try to salvage them somehow for around the house, because the coconut mixture tastes heavenly. I will just be sure to use more powdered sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gordon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States