Martha Washington Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I would say that I can cook or bake almost anything but this candy certainly wasnt for me. I could never get the candy firm enough to dip so I must have missed something somewhere. I could not bring myself to dump more powdered sugar in than I already did for fear of some sorta sugar shock. Would not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
4 cups of confectioner's sugar isn't enough. Put this in the freezer for 24 hours and still runny. Added 2 more cups of the powdered sugar and the consistancy became better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is an easy recipe and I made these for years when my children were growing up. However, I lost my recipe, so I tried this one. Just one thing was missing. To get the chocolate to set, you need to use shaved paraffin. It makes the chocolate more of a liquid than a soft consistency, but it helps the chocolate to set up and gives it a sheen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
It absolutely kills me to think of someone being disappointed with this recipe, but I know it can be a frustrating candy to pull off. The trick is to get the mixture to the proper consistency. I began making this with my mother-in-law about 25 years ago, and I remember being absolutely amazed at how much powdered sugar she added to make the mixture as firm as possible (we always ended up needing more than the recipe calls for). You have to get it to a point where you pretty much cannot stir it anymore. I always start out using my Kitchen Aid mixer, but eventually get to the point where it is so stiff that I must do the rest by hand. Then it is off to the refrigerator for at least 2 hours. I work in very small batches, only taking a portion out of the fridge at a time to roll into balls. It can be time consuming, but it is so worth it. You cannot believe how impressed everyone is when they taste these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I followed the recipe to the "T", refrigerating mixture overnight. As soon as the balls hit the hot melted chocolate, they oozed and melted themselves. The "candies" were actually a glob of coconut, sugar and chocolate. The flavor was good but the end result was NOT even close to the picture! I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
You must have the patience of a Saint to make these. I chilled the mixture for several hours in the freezer and still could not form balls. I added 16 oz of cream cheese and 2 more cups of sugar and chilled again overnight and still found it to difficult to form balls and to dip. I gave up and tossed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I've been making this candy with my Mom since I was a little girl. It's a wonderful recipe. We do it a little different. We make the dough leaving out the nuts and coconut and divide the dough evenly 3 ways. We mix one with pecans and coconut, one with Maraschino Cherries (if you like chocolate covered cherries you'll love this) and the 3rd with peanut butter. The one with nuts you follow the recipe listed exactly, the one with cherries you will need to drain the cherries and chop them into tiny pieces (it's also helpful to pat them dry with a towel) then mix in with dough.The cherry mixture will be softer and more sticky so it requires powdered sugar until you can roll it into bite size balls without the dough sticking to your hand then follow the recipe as listed. The peanut butter ones I add about 1 cup of peanut butter (sometimes more I,really like peanut butter) and mix until well blended with the dough. If the peanut butter dough gets too dry you can add a little (very little) milk and that will help bring the creaminess back. Happy Candy Making!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
This is by far my favorite candy recipe at Christmas! Very rich but delicious! Everyone loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I had these growing up and was really wanting them this Christmas Season. This recipe is exactly how I had remembered them. I made the mixture and let them set a few hours in the refrigerator. Rolled them up and refroze them. Very easy to dip with toothpicks and then come back and patch the hole with chocolate. Thanks for this wonderful recipe. No changes needed at all!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
When dipping this candy, remove the middle tines of a plastic fork and use it to dip. Eliminates the famous "hole" in the top. Works great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States