Martha Washington Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My mother has been making these for me every Christmas since I was a little kid. I can't imagine Christmas with out them. Thanks for sharing this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I would give this recipe more stars if I could, it is absolutely fabulous candy!!! I made just as directed except for adding paraffin to the chocolate. DEFINITELY ADD PARAFFIN to the chocolate!!! The paraffin makes the chocolate have a beautiful sheen, makes it easier to work with and helps the chocolate to dry quicker. I shave the paraffin into the chocolate so it will melt quickly....by all means DO NOT add a big chunk of paraffin if you melt the chocolate in the microwave, it will not melt easily that way. I made one set of candy without the paraffin and one with, I wish I had taken a picture of the set without paraffin to show the difference. This candy also taste almost identical to the Mayfair candy that See's sells except you just need to add chopped up maraschino cherries to the filling.....which I will definitely do the next time I make these! Thanks SO much for such a wonderful recipe. Almost forgot to add DO NOT forget to chill it will help to make the filling less gooey to work with and make sure your chocolate isn't scalding hot or your candy most likely will fall apart. I had absolutely zero problems making this, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
My grandmother made this candy for her family for 75 years. It stands the test of time. It is a staple in our house at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This is the same recipe my Grandmother uses. I love this, can't wait to try it this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
I would say that I can cook or bake almost anything but this candy certainly wasnt for me. I could never get the candy firm enough to dip so I must have missed something somewhere. I could not bring myself to dump more powdered sugar in than I already did for fear of some sorta sugar shock. Would not try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
4 cups of confectioner's sugar isn't enough. Put this in the freezer for 24 hours and still runny. Added 2 more cups of the powdered sugar and the consistancy became better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This is an easy recipe and I made these for years when my children were growing up. However, I lost my recipe, so I tried this one. Just one thing was missing. To get the chocolate to set, you need to use shaved paraffin. It makes the chocolate more of a liquid than a soft consistency, but it helps the chocolate to set up and gives it a sheen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
It absolutely kills me to think of someone being disappointed with this recipe, but I know it can be a frustrating candy to pull off. The trick is to get the mixture to the proper consistency. I began making this with my mother-in-law about 25 years ago, and I remember being absolutely amazed at how much powdered sugar she added to make the mixture as firm as possible (we always ended up needing more than the recipe calls for). You have to get it to a point where you pretty much cannot stir it anymore. I always start out using my Kitchen Aid mixer, but eventually get to the point where it is so stiff that I must do the rest by hand. Then it is off to the refrigerator for at least 2 hours. I work in very small batches, only taking a portion out of the fridge at a time to roll into balls. It can be time consuming, but it is so worth it. You cannot believe how impressed everyone is when they taste these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I followed the recipe to the "T", refrigerating mixture overnight. As soon as the balls hit the hot melted chocolate, they oozed and melted themselves. The "candies" were actually a glob of coconut, sugar and chocolate. The flavor was good but the end result was NOT even close to the picture! I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TinaMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sedona, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
You must have the patience of a Saint to make these. I chilled the mixture for several hours in the freezer and still could not form balls. I added 16 oz of cream cheese and 2 more cups of sugar and chilled again overnight and still found it to difficult to form balls and to dip. I gave up and tossed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States