Martha Washington Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I make these every year for the holidays and they are a huge hit. However, the first time I made them I had the same problem with them being runny. So, with a little tweaking and help from other reviews I was able to solve the runniness issue. I pretty much follow the directions of this recipe with the exception of using salted butter for the margarine and decreasing the amount to 1/2 cup. Also, I do not melt the butter but soften it in the microwave until it is almost to the point of melting. I mix all the ingredients and then put the mixture in the freezer in an airtight container at least overnight. Within the next day or two I roll them into balls and put those back into the freezer for an additional day or two. When you are ready to coat them in chocolate take only a dozen or so out at a time to work with and leave the rest in the freezer. It is much easier to dip them when they are firm. Also, I use shaved Gulf wax in the melted chocolate. It just gives an overall nice glossy appearance. These are definitely labor intensive but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I compared this recipe to my Mom's old recipe and decided to tweek both. I did use the 7 1/2 C confectioners sugar and used only 1/2 sheet of paraffin. My stand mixer did just great, but when it got to the last few cups of sugar, I changed from mixer attachments and put on the kneading attachment. Worked Great!!! I also used someone else's suggestion and used a small cookie scooper. Went much faster and easier. I roughly scooped out the mixture and put it in the fridge till it got nice and cold. Then I made them pretty by rolling into a ball with my hands. Will definitely do this again next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rubyann003
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Made this candy for years!Always great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I made these tonight because a friend of mine made them last year, although I was eager and did not read the reviews first and so... everything was ok, except after taking them out of the freezer (they'd been in there under an hour) they do melt so quickly in the dipping process, the chocolate melted the small ones into puddles. :o( so, yes, read the reviews, up the sugar a bit, cut the butter a bit. and also, I had no idea i should add paraffin, so it didn't take long before my chocolate got clumpy and very thick, too thick to dip the balls into and have them also look attractive. i abandoned ship after about 20, cooled the chocolate and decided to use it for something else. I have a bunch of the undipped balls in my freezer now, and need to decide if I want to get some food grade paraffin to avoid the previous mess. While these are delish, I gave the recipe only 3 stars because really, it doesn't work without some substantial alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADELINE D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
Ok Love this Christmas goody! Been making this for 20+ yrs, got the recipe from a wonderful friend of mine, Thanks Connie! :) My recipe doesn't use butter: 14oz coconut, 1 1/2 cps chopped & roasted almonds, 1 box powdered sugar, 1 can condensed milk, 12oz semi-sweet or milk chocolate chips & 1/4 - 1/2 paraffin wax (which I agree with others you really should use this makes the balls very shiny and easier to handle. Not sure what the butter does for it. My recipe always gets great raves...I'm rating this 5, not because I used this recipe, but bec. it's a great Xmas candy anyway you make it!!! :) Happy Holidaze!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alburtis, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
After reading the many comments I decided to go with half the margarine. It was perfect. refrigerated for an hour before I started dipping them in chocolate but found it more efficient to drizzle the chocolate on top. Absolutely delicious. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I started making these delicious candies after I spent Thanksgiving with my friend in North Carolina. Its their family tradition and now its ours. I would warn anyone who isn't normally a candy or sweet person that these are extremely sweet. I would suggest a double boiler pot to melt the chocolate. Also add an extra 1/4-1/2 cup of coconut for extra bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
delicious. made them for Christmas. went over well. but they are time consuming to make. had to freeze the mix before dipping in chocolate. could only take 10-15 out of freezer at a time to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I have made a very similar recipe for years...it's called Goof Balls and it doesn't include the margarine or vanilla, all else is the same. IT is wonderful!!! My husband requests this every Christmas. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NO2JROF4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
My grandmother made these for us every Christmas and then my mother made them too. Now, that I have my own children, I make them every Christmas and I always gift them to the kids' teachers. My whole family loves them. The kids like to make the filling and since you don't have to cook it it is easy for them do. I do the dipping using two forks. I will try the suggestions of one reviewer and add the peanut butter next year. Our recipe only has one stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States