Martha Washington Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I started making these delicious candies after I spent Thanksgiving with my friend in North Carolina. Its their family tradition and now its ours. I would warn anyone who isn't normally a candy or sweet person that these are extremely sweet. I would suggest a double boiler pot to melt the chocolate. Also add an extra 1/4-1/2 cup of coconut for extra bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
delicious. made them for Christmas. went over well. but they are time consuming to make. had to freeze the mix before dipping in chocolate. could only take 10-15 out of freezer at a time to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I have made a very similar recipe for years...it's called Goof Balls and it doesn't include the margarine or vanilla, all else is the same. IT is wonderful!!! My husband requests this every Christmas. We love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NO2JROF4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
My grandmother made these for us every Christmas and then my mother made them too. Now, that I have my own children, I make them every Christmas and I always gift them to the kids' teachers. My whole family loves them. The kids like to make the filling and since you don't have to cook it it is easy for them do. I do the dipping using two forks. I will try the suggestions of one reviewer and add the peanut butter next year. Our recipe only has one stick of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I have made these also before and they did not turn out at all, very sticky and did not roll into balls. So this week-end I am going to experiment with all these tips and try my hand at making a batch, after reading the reviews here, I think I know what I have been doing wrong. I want to be able to enjoy this wonderful candy over the holiday season. My mom used to make these and if made right, it is a wonderful candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This recipe made as is, is a joke. It is a frosting recipe. It doesn't set up near firm enough to make actual candy. After refridgerating it for a week, I opted to put it on the stovetop and cook it. I let it boil until it turned a nice caramel color, then I scooped it with a melon baller onto a parchment lined cookie sheet. The flavor reminded me of a vanilla haystack but not as creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
My mom used to make these when i was a kid. And also Divinity. They are the best. I always asked her to make them even when i got older. I haven't tried making them myself yet, but i think i will give it a try soon. I don't think she put the coconut in them, since i hate coconut. I read some of the reviews and will probably use the hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I grew up making these every Christmas with my mom and sister. They are fun to make and everyone goes nuts over them. My mom's recipe is a little different and since they always came out perfectly I want to share how we did it. We used 1 stick of butter instead of margarine, 2 boxes confectioners sugar, 1/2 can of sweetened condensed milk, 1 cup chopped pecans, 1 teas. vanilla, 6-8 squares unsweetened chocolate, 1/2 cake parafin and we didn't put coconut in ours. After dipping the balls into the chocolate using a toothpick, we would remove the toothpick while slightly pressing a half pecan over the whole. The parafin gives a beautiful sheen to the candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I made this without the sweetened condensed milk by accident and it worked great and tasted wonderful. Very easy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious! Not much else to say on that one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States