Martha Washington Candies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
I have made these also before and they did not turn out at all, very sticky and did not roll into balls. So this week-end I am going to experiment with all these tips and try my hand at making a batch, after reading the reviews here, I think I know what I have been doing wrong. I want to be able to enjoy this wonderful candy over the holiday season. My mom used to make these and if made right, it is a wonderful candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This recipe made as is, is a joke. It is a frosting recipe. It doesn't set up near firm enough to make actual candy. After refridgerating it for a week, I opted to put it on the stovetop and cook it. I let it boil until it turned a nice caramel color, then I scooped it with a melon baller onto a parchment lined cookie sheet. The flavor reminded me of a vanilla haystack but not as creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
My mom used to make these when i was a kid. And also Divinity. They are the best. I always asked her to make them even when i got older. I haven't tried making them myself yet, but i think i will give it a try soon. I don't think she put the coconut in them, since i hate coconut. I read some of the reviews and will probably use the hints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I grew up making these every Christmas with my mom and sister. They are fun to make and everyone goes nuts over them. My mom's recipe is a little different and since they always came out perfectly I want to share how we did it. We used 1 stick of butter instead of margarine, 2 boxes confectioners sugar, 1/2 can of sweetened condensed milk, 1 cup chopped pecans, 1 teas. vanilla, 6-8 squares unsweetened chocolate, 1/2 cake parafin and we didn't put coconut in ours. After dipping the balls into the chocolate using a toothpick, we would remove the toothpick while slightly pressing a half pecan over the whole. The parafin gives a beautiful sheen to the candy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I made this without the sweetened condensed milk by accident and it worked great and tasted wonderful. Very easy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Delicious! Not much else to say on that one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
My mother has been making these for me every Christmas since I was a little kid. I can't imagine Christmas with out them. Thanks for sharing this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Keri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Photo by butterflymomma
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
I would give this recipe more stars if I could, it is absolutely fabulous candy!!! I made just as directed except for adding paraffin to the chocolate. DEFINITELY ADD PARAFFIN to the chocolate!!! The paraffin makes the chocolate have a beautiful sheen, makes it easier to work with and helps the chocolate to dry quicker. I shave the paraffin into the chocolate so it will melt quickly....by all means DO NOT add a big chunk of paraffin if you melt the chocolate in the microwave, it will not melt easily that way. I made one set of candy without the paraffin and one with, I wish I had taken a picture of the set without paraffin to show the difference. This candy also taste almost identical to the Mayfair candy that See's sells except you just need to add chopped up maraschino cherries to the filling.....which I will definitely do the next time I make these! Thanks SO much for such a wonderful recipe. Almost forgot to add DO NOT forget to chill it will help to make the filling less gooey to work with and make sure your chocolate isn't scalding hot or your candy most likely will fall apart. I had absolutely zero problems making this, give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
My grandmother made this candy for her family for 75 years. It stands the test of time. It is a staple in our house at Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This is the same recipe my Grandmother uses. I love this, can't wait to try it this Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate Mint Candies Cookies

Bake your favorite thin chocolate mints into these melt-in-your-mouth cookies.

Chocolate Covered Peppermint Patties

See how to make a chocolate peppermint confection.

Chocolate Pretzels

Sweet chocolate and salty pretzels go together deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States