Marshmallow and Lime Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Awesome flavor! I drained a bit of pineapple juice off then added it. Also made it the day before. Definitely a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I liked this. I remember women from the lady's church group my mother belonged to when I was a child, made this salad for the monthly meeting. Soon as I tasted this, I was taken back in time. Think I might make this for my mom on mother's day. Great recipe, doesn't need changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
First, I want to say that I followed the recipe to the letter. This was in the fridge for well over 24 hours, and it still did not firm up. What I ended up with was a pudding, not gelatin, although I must say it was a tasty pudding. I'm going to try this recipe again with changes. I will thoroughly drain the pineapple, and I also will stir in the jello and the softened cream cheese (recipe does even tell you to use softened cream cheese) when the marshmallow-soda mixture is still "very" warm. If you don't, you will never incorporate the cream cheese completely to a smooth texture (and I whisked the heck out of it). Not sure what the mayo is supposed to do, but a tsp didn't seem to do anything, so I would eliminate that in the future. I really was looking for something that could be cut into squares, so it was a huge disappointment to have to spoon it into a dish. I'm giving this 3 stars based solely on the taste because it was flavorful. This recipe has potential but, seriously, needs some tweaking IMO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Vintage Jello salad! I omitted nuts, since taking to a potluck, and doubled everything for a 9x13 pan. Only a few servings were left! A great way to use up marsh mellows in your pantry. Definitely used canned pineapple, not fresh, or the pectin will not set properly in the Jello. Also, stir the Jello into the boiling water so it sets up right. No soupiness. A wonderful throwback dish to my childhood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Loved this recipe. Tripled it & took to a big potluck. I did change the way I put the salad together. After reading all the comments about people not having this jello salad set up properly, I decided to add the jello to the hot soda & melted marshmellow mixture. (Jello needs a hot liquid to properly disolve.) Then I creamed together the room temp cream cheese & mayo with my hand mixer before stirring it into the mostly cooled soda, marshmellow and fully disolved lime jello mixture. Lastly I folded in all the other ingredients until well blended (I substited shredded cocconut for the chopped pecans since I was taking to a putluck & some are allergic to nuts). It set up beautifully and I had wonderful comments and even a few requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
this is some of the best lime jello salad we have ever had. no changes, love it just as it is. never any left over from a large family gathering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodykempf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Byron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I just came home from a Game Day and my dish was scraped clean. A hit with everyone! I followed the recipe, refrigerated it the night before and it was perfect. I only cooled the marshmallows and 7- Up slightly before using an electric mixer on low, added the gelatin, then cream cheese and rest of ingredients . DO NOT add any water to the jello!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
The gelatin came out perfect. I did drain the pineapple, but other than that I followed the recipe. Next time I wont add the pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smicer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
My family loved this salad and I found it easy to make. I also had no trouble with it setting and I'm wondering if those of you who did, put water in your jello, instead of putting just the dry jello in the marshmallow/beverage mixture, just after letting it cool slightly, so the jello dissolves. I also brought my cream cheese to room temperature and creamed it & the mayo with my mixer, then added the still warm jello/marshmallow mixer to it on a low speed until the cream cheese dissolved. I then added the pineapple & nuts. It turned out perfect. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michilinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is a great salad. My granddaughter thought it was ice-cream. This does make a lot of salad. Great for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States