Marshmallow Treats Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
There are a couple of "secrets" to making the perfect gooey Rice Krispie Treats: (1) the stovetop is THE way to go (the pan washes out easy w/hot soapy water) (2) you HAVE to melt the butter sloooowly and make sure it doesn't turn brown at all. (3) mix in the marshmallows and melt them just as slowly. If the butter gets brown, the treats will be dry. We double our recipe and it still fits fine into a 13x9 pan (grease the pan w/butter). To make them truly gooey use the following measurements: 11.5 cups Rice Krispies, 1 whole stick of butter, (1) 16oz bag of mini marshmallows. (I always use Jet Puff brand). I've become the neighborhood "treat" maker because the neighbors say theirs never turn out like mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4017 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makeiteasy4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
ADD 2 1/2 TEASPOONS OF MILK WHEN THE MARSHMELLOWS ARE ALMOST DONE MELTING AND IT MAKES IT GOOIER AND CREAMIER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1541 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
These are great!! I went a little crazy throwing stuff into them, lol. I added a few chocolate chips I had left from another recipe, a couple Hershey bars broken up, and a big spoonful of peanut butter. Yum! I didn't butter the pan, I used cooking spray. Another helpful tip, if you spray your hands with the cooking spray, you can press them into the pan without getting all sticky!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
990 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
Who doesn't like these? Heck, even the major coffee shops carry these in their bakeries, and charge too much for them too! I vary the measurements slightly (1/4 c. butter, 50 regular marhmallows or 5 c. miniature marshmallows, 6 c. Rice Krispies) but the result is the same--ooey, gooey good! I like them thicker, so I make them in a buttered 9x9" pan. For extra decadence I often melt an 11 oz. package of milk chocolate chips and spread them over the top. Absolutely out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
Great Recipe! I of course added my own spin to it ;). I used the same measurements for the butter, marshmallows, and rice cereal. However, I added a capful of milk, splash of vanilla, heaping spoon of peanut butter, and then to crown it off some peanut butter m&m's!!!!!!!!!!! AMAZING. I aslo used the microwave suggestion....excellent. I would suggest either using a smaller pan though or doubling the batch as others suggested. Have fun with this classic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
i put my own spin on this already fabulous recipe. instead of rice krispies, i used meatloaf....fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
This can easily be done in a big microwave safe bowl in the microwave. Melt butter for 30 seconds. Add marshmallos , cook on high for 45 seconds, stir and then add the crispies. I also like to add a big spoonful of crunchy peanut butter to the marshmallow butter mixture-then continue as before-delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Lancaster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This is a basic easy recipe. Pretty much the same as all the other Rice Krispies recipes. The reason why this one is getting 2 stars is because YOU CANNOT SUB MARSHMALLOW CREME, your treats will NEVER set up. I have faithfully tried this recipe 2 times with Marshmallow creme and each time they NEVER set up, you have to eat them with a spoon. Needless to say I have wasted time and ingredients, and I have come to the conclusion that you just can't sub marshmallow creme. I have no idea why this lady is suggesting this to you because it will not work, maybe she never tried it but it just dosen't work. USE REGULAR MARSHMALLOWS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
This recipe was great! I used non-colored rice crispies, then as the marshmallow was melting I added red food coloring to it. I also laid them out on the pan a little thinner than instructed. Once they were dry, I cut them into heart shapes, and put two hearts together with peanut butter in the middle for a little "marshmallow sandwich". They are adorable and taste great! Plus, they are pink for Valentine's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This is a very standard recipe, but definetly a good one! I usually use marshmallows over the creme. At easter, we use a lamb mold and fill it with the rice krispy mixture. One great tip is to wet your hands before transferring the rice crispy treats to the pan. it prevents a lot of sticking and mess. Use can also add 2/3 cup peanut butter to the melted butter and marshmallow. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 555) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Treats

See how to make super-easy marshmallow treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States