Marshmallow Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
These were FANTASTICALLY EASY!! I'm the Queen of Short Cuts so here's my take- I made them according to the directions, but added about 1/4 t. of Mexican vanilla to the Marshmallows while melting in the butter. (QUICK NOTE* 1/2 CU OF UNPOPPED POPCORN = about 4 QTS POPPED CORN). I had to use microwave popcorn, and that little fact was not printed out on the bags. I used LITE BUTTER FLAVOR. PICK OUT THE UNPOPPED KERNELS NEXT! I poured the popped popcorn into a large lightly sprayed (with Pam) pot to mix with the melted marshmallow mixutre. MUCHO EASIER to stir together in a deep pot then in the cake pan with low sides! After mixing well I dumped that into a lightly Pam sprayed 13x9 cake pan. I laid a sheet of wax paper over the pan, and gently tapped the mixture out (but not too tight or it squishes the fluff out of it). I squished a Hershey's Kiss into the center of a few to see how it held. It stuck well, and looked great. Then, I cooled it for about 30 min, and cut into 25 squares so instead of 8 whompin' sized popcorn balls it produced enough to feed at least 20 hungry goblins..lol. I've since added M&Ms to them when stirring it all up,and they were also inhaled! Yes, I dirtied a second pan, but it was far easier to wash the second pot then try to stir that huge mixture in such a small pan with 2" sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
500 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
This may seem weird, but add a small box of flavored jello to the marshmallow mix. My mother used to make them that way when I was a kid. I loved loved loved them. You can also add 1/2 cup brown sugar to the marshmallow and butter mix. That way it tastes a bit like caramel popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOLLYJOLLY
Home Town: Bluewater, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
My family made this all of the time growing up. For a little more of a chewey caramel flavor, we would melt together 2 cubes of butter and 2 cups of brown sugar to an almost carmelized point before adding in 2 cups of marshmallows and the popcorn (more or less depending on how gooey you like it) We also would add red hots, spice drops, candy canes, nuts, tiny jelly beans, etc, depending on the season and give them as quick gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
211 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eve
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
If you like more caramel taste... I used 4 cups marsh. 1 cup caramel bits 1 teas. vanilla and these are more caramel less rice krispie like. Very good. They set up perfect. I have made these both ways and both are very good it just depends on taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
These are soooo yummy, and way easier than traditional popcorn balls. It's even easier if you use microwave popcorn - I used 2 bags of Kettle Corn, which made them nice and sweet. My classmates loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I didn't have time to make this recipe into balls so I just pressed it down into the pan and cut it into squares! I also added salted peanuts to it which my kids (and husband) loved! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
I originally was looking for a simple popcorn coating for a quick midnight snack, but I came across this recipe and since I had the marshmallows on hand, I thought, "why not?" I'm glad that I did. This was very simple to make (took less than 3 minutes!), and the results are fantastic. I deviated a bit from the normal instructions and used an air popper (much more healthy, IMHO). I also decreased the marshmallows a bit - if I had made this using the standard recipe, the balls would have turned out way too sweet for my indvidual taste. The kids will probably enjoy this as well (I have no children, so I can't say for sure...). Thanks for sharing, Kory. Everyone should give this a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I make this with Reeces Pieces and form it in a bundt pan. The kids love popcorn cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
These were so easy to make! My 4 yr. old helped me and we added some orange coloring and chocolate sprinkles for Halloween. I used a bag of microwave popcorn and it seemed like there was too much marshmellow mix. Next time it will cut back on that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
These were so yummy! I don't particularly like hard caramel corn, and this had a soft, chewy texture even after cooling. I did add about 1/2 cup brown sugar to the butter to add a golden color and make it taste a bit more like caramel corn. Kids loved it, husband too! Highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States