Marshmallow Popcorn Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I had never made popcorn balls before and this recipe looked like a very easy recipe to follow. Plus, I had all the ingredients in the house so I decided that I would give it a try. They turned out very well. The recipe was very concise and direct. There was nothing to misinterpret. I did notice that the mixture would stick a lot to my hands when making the balls. The recipe said to put butter on your hands to keep from sticking. I had to keep reapplying the butter because it would stick too much. However, it didn’t seem like the mixture stuck together because I had to pack them together just to stay. I used many different types of popcorn that I had left over from the popcorn bar we had at my wedding. I used buttered popcorn, kettle corn, and cinnamon-flavored popcorn. I would have to say that the best one was definitely the kettle corn. I would suggest that everyone try it with kettle corn. I also tried to add m&ms to the mixture with the buttered popcorn; however, that just made the chocolate melt which made the balls less sticky and they fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Made this and I found them to be kinda bland. They didn't taste as sweet as I expected them to be. I even added white chocolate m&ms and still didn't help the flavor much. They were also really hard to bind together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Reduced the butter in half, added vanilla beans...amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Yes, I have tried them. They don't stay together that good, but they look delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Delicious!! Added crushed candy canes and a touch of salt. Wrapped in cello they were perfect holiday treat (party favor, token gift, etc.). YUM, YUM, YUM! Minor tweaks: I used 2 TBSP oil to cook popcorn. (BTW, this makes 4 QT so do use a 4QT pan.) I reduced to 5 TBSP butter (more than krispie treat recipe but less than this recipe) and used full 10 oz bag of regular size marshmallows (approx 40 marshmallows, fairly sure this is equivalent to minis called for in this recipe). Also added 1/3-1/2 tsp salt and 1/3-1/2 cup candy cane pieces. YUM! Candy canes, of course, were for the holiday season and salt added the salty-sweet contrast we wanted. I mixed in the largest bowl I own then shaped into balls onto wax paper. Spray or butter the bowl and your hands. This stuff is sticky!! Secret tricks: Melt butter and marshmallows slowly on LOW heat and stir constantly so they have no chance to burn. Also, add 2 tsp milk into melted marshmallows, a tip I picked up on a rice krispie treat recipe here on allrecipes. Makes it all extra creamy. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
Didn't feel like measuring so used half sick butter, 2 bags mini marshmallows, 2 bags microwave popcorn. Melted butter then added the marshmallows and melted (added a couple shakes of raspberry flavored jello)then dumped in the bags of popcorn. Oiled my hands with Pam, rolled into balls...10 min. Total!!! So stinken good :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandy colorado

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Marshmallow fluff was easy, but much more sticky. Having a bowl of water on hand to dip sticky hands in was absolutely key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
A very quick and yummy twist on the traditional popcorn ball recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This has become my family's go to quick snack recipe. It's also fairly cheap as far as snack food recipes go. We try to always keep some popcorn and marshmallows in the house for this treat. It's also good adding peanut butter or brown sugar too. Thanks so much for sharing this and giving my family a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
good! took another reviewers suggestion and added 1/2 c. brown sugar to the mix. also added food coloring to color mine. they didn't set up as well (harden) like other popcorn balls I've made (they were soft, which I love, but almost too soft)...but some could be related to our weather here right now--very humid/hot...not sure. still VERY yummy!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Popcorn Balls

This snack is sweet, savory, and crunchy--and even low in fat.

Pad Thai Popcorn

See how to make this sensational, sweet and spicy snack!

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States