Marshmallow Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Good for casein free, just ok for overall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Delicious and just a little different! The first step took about 12 minutes for me, but after that everything clicked along and turned out perfectly. Combined with the Egg-Free, Dairy-Free, Nut-Free Cake recipe from this site (my chocolate cake standby because it's so moist and easy), I made "S'mores on a Cloud" cupcakes by topping the marshmallow icing with crushed graham crackers and chocolate shavings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2009
Turned out EXTREMELY sweet and it didn't quite reach the right consistancy. If there is any way to make it less sweet, I think it would be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
My hubby and kids really liked this one...it was a little sweet for me. It was so similar to a 7 minute frosting (which is one of my favorites) that I thought I would give it a try. While the taste was similar, it was sweeter than a traditional 7 minute frosting. I had no problems with the prep or consistency of this icing. Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raoulysgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Linn Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Camdenton, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahMc
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
I would use this again, but mine was not making stiff peaks after 7 minutes, but maybe I had too much water in the bottom of my double boiler? Not sure, but this was still nice and soft on day 2 unlike some other 7 minute frostings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
This was very delicious. I had trouble with the electric mixer over heating. I wonder if it would work if you cooked the syrup without egg white first and then added to the egg white and beated, such as when making divinity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was great! I made it exactly as written and it turned out perfectly. We had it with a plain ole white cake and it couldn't have been better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crikkitt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I have been using this recipe for cakes for many years, I got the recipe from my grandmother. It is a very tasty icing, simple to make, and holds well...as long as the humidity isn't high. It should never be stored in the fridge, either. This icing will turn grainy (sugary) in either extreme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My boyfriend had requested marshmallow for his birthday cake, and when he tasted this, he said, "vanilla". If you're looking for marshmallow frosting, just leave out or cut back the vanilla and it should be perfect. Other than that, this is a really great recipe, and I thought it was fun to make. You could definitely experiment with the flavoring, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I've never made anything like this before, cooking eggs like that totally intimidates me. But it came out fabulous, even though I totally messed it up! I halved the recipe but then I got confused and used 2 egg whites anyway. I also didn't have any marshmallows so I used Fluff instead (I compensated by using a bit less sugar because the fluff is sweet). Then I misread about cooking and whipping it over rapidly boiling water, I just had it over simmering water. But even so, it came out very nice and fluffy, I was so surprised! And it wasn't too sweet, either. I absolutely loved it and it is perfect as a low-fat filling for a low-fat whoopie pie recipe that I've been working on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States