Marshmallow Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT, MAKES A BEAUTIFUL CAKE, NOT SICKENING SWEET, TASTES GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I gave this a 4 because I made a couple of changes. Tip1: Seeing as there are some users who found this recipe too sweet, make sure you taste your marshmallows before you use them so you can adjust the sweetness of your icing. In my case, I used really sweet ones so i lessened the sugar to 2/3 cup and omitted the corn syrup. Tip2: follow the procedure as written and make sure you cook the egg whites, sugar and water over the double boiler till it peaks. Beat it continuously as instructed. If you add in the marshmallows too soon, it'll be as flat as hot marshmallow fluff from a jar... Tip3:you can add another cup of marshmallows if you wish... I used 30pcs of the big ones. I know it doesn't measure the same but i'm pretty sure it's more than a cup. In my experience, more marshmallows = better viscosity especially if you want to pipe it on. So overall, this recipe was exactly what i was looking for but the sugar level needed a little adjusting to my taste... mmm fluffy marshmallow goodness... cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericaa.

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was so easy to make & was absolutely delicious. Placed it on orange-cream cupcakes & it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Too sweet and marshmallows didn't want to melt for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Well, the taste wa a-ok, but the consistancy was like melted marshmellow. I couldn't do a thing with it other than drizzle this more like a glaze. I wanted to decorate with it - so I needed something stiffer. My leftovers I put in the fridge and it has separate - the corn syrup sank to the bottom. I would love to hear from someone who made this succesfully - or did everyone get a glaze?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
I just tried to make this and followed all the directions but mine came out very grainy..not sure what happened. I cooked it for about 8 minutes, took it off the heat and then added the marshmallows. It's very sweet...If I try again I will definitely cut the sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mmichelle37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
I made this for a strawberry cake I made- i didn't put in any vanilla extract and no marshmallows either but it was still REALLY good! It was a little runny, so I just globbed some over the little cakes I made and it looked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by firstdibbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niceville, Florida, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
So good that my teeth hurt just looking at it! Really easy, just takes some constant attention. I dalloped it on top of chocolate fudge cake cupcakes because I didn't want more chocolate and it was AMAZING! Almost smore-like...mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Fantastic! definitely not too sweet (as one reviewer complained). Butter cream icing is far sweeter. This is just gooier and fluffier - I loved it! It can be flavoured too - eg., I used 1tsp of orange liquor (instead of vanilla) and also added about 1 Tbs of orange zest while it was boiling, and used it to ice a round, double layer 9" chocolate cake - Yum! Next time I will make ~ 1.5x the recipe though, as it would have been nice to have a thicker layer of icing. One tip: if you are icing a double layer cake, allow the middle icing layer to set for 5-10 minutes in the fridge before putting on the top layer. Put a lid on the icing in the pot and leave it over the hot water (without the heat on) so it doesn't set while you're waiting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Very easy to follow. Great for fillers. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States