Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 10, 2014
It tastes amazing, but I kept it in the fridge for 2 nights instead of one and it was okay. I tried rolling it out, but it was rubbery, not hard. We put water on it, then it turned gross. I don't have a stand mixer, but a hand mixer and it still mixed, but not as well because it was so thick, so in the end I used my hands. No matter how much butter on my hands, it would not get off! I am not going to use this recipe again, since it frustrated me so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I used this recipe for my older cousin's birthday cake and she said it was so good that she thought I bought it for her. It was so easy to do and it tasted way better than that store bought junk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
the best thing EVER!! tip: use mixer much ez much better :) did it all ready 6 times, and its the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Great taste. A little sticky when preparing but the result is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodygreiner
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
A friend of mine suggested we make our own fondant for a birthday cake, so we gathered all the ingredients. We actually used the wrong proportions as powdered sugar was 6 dollars a bag. After a tedious process of chopping regular marshmallows into a substitute for minis, we put a metal bowl on top of a boiling pot of water as a microwave. After all of these substitutions, we were actually able to make a fondant like goop. It doesn't taste that good. It is time consuming, messy hard..... much easier store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My very first try with this fondant didn't go over great, but it was my fault. I used drop color instead of gel, which I think added too much moisture to it. When I made it the second time, I bought the Wilton brand color and BOOM! This was amazing! It took the color wonderfully, was so very easy to use, and it was very easy to "paste" fondant decorations on the cake I made using just a drop of water. I used powdered sugar instead of cornstarch or flour when rolling. I have a bakery friend who has asked for my recipe because of the ease and the wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristianna
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I love the flavor of this fondant. Due to weather conditions at times I need more sugar or more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristianna
Living In: New Delhi, Delhi, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Excellent!! First time making my own fondant....I always buy the high quality brands for bakery supply store.....however I have to say that this fondant is comparable to the best pre-made fondant out there.......moreover, I didn't add the 1/4 of water and was able to cover an entire cake almost immediately....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Loved it!!!!! I noticed most people thought one should add the butter to the recipe which is not the case. The butter is to rub on your hands before knead it. This adds some butter flavor without adding it to your recipe. turned out beautiful. I covered a 9 inch cake with half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sartell, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I like this a lot more then other fondant recipes i have tried! It was easy to make and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States