Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 14, 2014
I really liked this recipe and it tasted good unlike other fondants I've eaten. On one batch I used mini marshmallows and on the other batch I used marshmallow fluff. I preferred the mini marshmallow version. I felt it was less sticky and easier to work with in general. I also set up 2 stations on my counter top for kneading. One area had the powered sugar and the other had shortening. When my fondant started to stick on the powdered sugar side, I transferred my fondant for a couple of kneads on the shortening side which kept things less messy. That being said, I still got powdered sugar all over myself and the floor. Be prepared for some clean up time and move any rugs from the floor ahead of time I also had a very wide spatula to pick up the rolled out fondant when I was ready to transfer it on to the cake. It was a lifesaver! Overall making the fondant was a bit time consuming and a bit of a learning curve but well worth it for the taste and is much more budget friendly than buying it. I love the endless possibilities now that I've learned to make fondant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by justine3slp
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I followed other reviews and used crisco instead of butter. Made it much easier to work with! I will def make this again! It was a hit! The fondant was tasty and not too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
It tastes amazing, but I kept it in the fridge for 2 nights instead of one and it was okay. I tried rolling it out, but it was rubbery, not hard. We put water on it, then it turned gross. I don't have a stand mixer, but a hand mixer and it still mixed, but not as well because it was so thick, so in the end I used my hands. No matter how much butter on my hands, it would not get off! I am not going to use this recipe again, since it frustrated me so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
I used this recipe for my older cousin's birthday cake and she said it was so good that she thought I bought it for her. It was so easy to do and it tasted way better than that store bought junk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
the best thing EVER!! tip: use mixer much ez much better :) did it all ready 6 times, and its the best!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Great taste. A little sticky when preparing but the result is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodygreiner
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
A friend of mine suggested we make our own fondant for a birthday cake, so we gathered all the ingredients. We actually used the wrong proportions as powdered sugar was 6 dollars a bag. After a tedious process of chopping regular marshmallows into a substitute for minis, we put a metal bowl on top of a boiling pot of water as a microwave. After all of these substitutions, we were actually able to make a fondant like goop. It doesn't taste that good. It is time consuming, messy hard..... much easier store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My very first try with this fondant didn't go over great, but it was my fault. I used drop color instead of gel, which I think added too much moisture to it. When I made it the second time, I bought the Wilton brand color and BOOM! This was amazing! It took the color wonderfully, was so very easy to use, and it was very easy to "paste" fondant decorations on the cake I made using just a drop of water. I used powdered sugar instead of cornstarch or flour when rolling. I have a bakery friend who has asked for my recipe because of the ease and the wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristianna
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I love the flavor of this fondant. Due to weather conditions at times I need more sugar or more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristianna
Living In: New Delhi, Delhi, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Excellent!! First time making my own fondant....I always buy the high quality brands for bakery supply store.....however I have to say that this fondant is comparable to the best pre-made fondant out there.......moreover, I didn't add the 1/4 of water and was able to cover an entire cake almost immediately....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Ice Cream in a Bag

Yes, you and your kids can make ice cream in a bag. Shake, scoop, and eat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States