Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Great taste. A little sticky when preparing but the result is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodygreiner
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
A friend of mine suggested we make our own fondant for a birthday cake, so we gathered all the ingredients. We actually used the wrong proportions as powdered sugar was 6 dollars a bag. After a tedious process of chopping regular marshmallows into a substitute for minis, we put a metal bowl on top of a boiling pot of water as a microwave. After all of these substitutions, we were actually able to make a fondant like goop. It doesn't taste that good. It is time consuming, messy hard..... much easier store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
My very first try with this fondant didn't go over great, but it was my fault. I used drop color instead of gel, which I think added too much moisture to it. When I made it the second time, I bought the Wilton brand color and BOOM! This was amazing! It took the color wonderfully, was so very easy to use, and it was very easy to "paste" fondant decorations on the cake I made using just a drop of water. I used powdered sugar instead of cornstarch or flour when rolling. I have a bakery friend who has asked for my recipe because of the ease and the wonderful taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Oglethorpe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristianna
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I love the flavor of this fondant. Due to weather conditions at times I need more sugar or more liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristianna
Living In: New Delhi, Delhi, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
Excellent!! First time making my own fondant....I always buy the high quality brands for bakery supply store.....however I have to say that this fondant is comparable to the best pre-made fondant out there.......moreover, I didn't add the 1/4 of water and was able to cover an entire cake almost immediately....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Loved it!!!!! I noticed most people thought one should add the butter to the recipe which is not the case. The butter is to rub on your hands before knead it. This adds some butter flavor without adding it to your recipe. turned out beautiful. I covered a 9 inch cake with half the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sartell, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
I like this a lot more then other fondant recipes i have tried! It was easy to make and really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was super sticky. I kept kneading it with a lot of sugar after I let it come to room temperature. It would get stuck to everything!!!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula Mercier
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
I have always wanted to make and use fondant but until now I had never found a recipe I thought I could handle. I used the fondant to make Snoopy cupcake decorations, this recipe was so quick and easy and really made the cupcake stand out. Thank you so much I can't wait to make a birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Mercier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
This tastes good. It was a little soft to work with. It wouldn't be good for sculptures that require more structure. The fondant you can buy is stiffer and works nice for shaping but it tastes like paper. I prefer it to taste good if I have to choose between taste and structural quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Ice Cream in a Bag

Yes, you and your kids can make ice cream in a bag. Shake, scoop, and eat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States