Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
DONT USE BUTTER!! MAKES IT TASTE WEIRD other than that its is absolutely amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
It was a sticky batter instead of dough until I added almost all of a 4 pound bag of confectioners sugar to even become workable dough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
I love the flavor, but I have no idea how everyone else who's reviewed this recipe, manages to have the proportions of ingredients come out accurately. I've made this 4 times and I always need to add different amounts of powdered sugar---always far and away more than the recipe states. Nuking the fondant back to life does help, but the consistency has varied greatly from one batch to the next for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2015
I was scared to try fondant for the first time, but it turned out great! Super easy, and I even won a bake-off at work. A couple things I learned that other newbies like me might find useful: As some reviewers have mentioned, this is not a pure white fondant. Using clear vanilla extract will help with the off-white color that traditional brown vanilla will impart. Or, skip the vanilla altogether. Secondly: Do not refrigerate the cake once the fondant is on. If you do, when you remove it from the fridge, it will sweat as it comes up to room temperature and not look as nice, and it may cause any additional decor you've added to your cake to melt/run.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2015
This was the easiest fondant recipe I've tried so far....and very tasty!! Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2015
If like me, you take on this recipe to find that it's a dismal failure because it's dry and doesn't take the confectioner's sugar well... don't lose all hope because it can be saved! If you find that you're kneading the fondant and it's completely the opposite of sticky, and it doesn't take the sugar well, don't add more water, or continue kneading in the hope it will take (like I did). Instead, put the whole thing back in the microwave for 30 second increments until the dough is warm to the touch and can be kneaded into a pliable fondant. In the UK, most marshmallow is a mix of white and pink... this makes the fondant pink (the confectioners sugar doesn't 'whiten' it). I added green and blue at the kneading stage and it took the colours beautifully, so using pink marshmallow wasn't an issue. When it works, it's a wonderful fondant. It wasn't as smooth to make (for me) as most of the reviews led me to believe. Having said this, I'll be trying this recipe again. Edit: when it came to using it the next day, the fondant had dried hard and wasn't workable when it was brought back to room temperature. I put the fondant in the microwave at 30 sec intervals to warm it up which worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2015
SOOOOO easy and quick! If you're new to fondant THIS is your recipe. Other fondants can be hard and chalky, this tastes like candy! It's easy to manipulate when it's ready and big enough recipe to break it up for several different colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cami Romney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Amman, Amman, Jordan
Photo by Kelly Minasi
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Was a great recipe and not only performed well but tasted good. I frosted my cake fist with my old faithful cream cheese frosting. 1 stick butter, box of 10x sugar, block cream cheese and 1 tsp vanilla. Went on beautifully after that. Very pleased!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Minasi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This fondant worked great! Way better than store bought, east to make and handle! My first attempt at covering a cake with fondant - and it worked! Woohoo! I did add the yellow food coloring to the marshmallow/water pre-powdered sugar, black was kneaded in after.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I love it!!! It was so easy, came out like a playdough. Took me maybe 10 minutes to have the fondant ready. Just folded heated marshmallows into the confectioner sugar and sprayed my hands with Pam before kneading. FUN!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 931) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States