Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Great recipe! I was nervous to try it, but found it was easy to work with. I added almond and vanilla for a wedding cake flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
Well, after reading LTH's review of this fondant, I'll just say - yep. It's that easy. This was also my first attempt at fondant. I only needed cutouts to make pig ears, eyes, and snouts. I kneaded with my KA mixer and took out some white fondant before adding the pink gel coloring. For the ears I cut triangles out with a knife, then curled and formed them on waxed paper. I let them dry and added them to the frosted cookies. I will definitely use this recipe again! Thanks Kiele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
Absolutely fabulous! So much better tasting than any pre-made fondant I have ever tasted. If it were possible to rate over a 5 I would definitely do so! What attracted me to this recipe was the ease in making the fondant. I was a little hesitant as lots of easy things don't taste all that great but, my fears were unfounded. This was absolutely a breeze to put together and so much fun to work with! Thank you so much for this awesome recipe. I'll never use store bought fondant again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANA K

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Richmond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ginelle
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH FOR THE RECIPE, I was really nervous to try it but it was easy, sticky and messy because I wasn't adding the confectiones sugar that it needed, but it was perfect when I found out the problem, it was really yummy. For my first time it was ok. I LOVE it!! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Monterrey, Nuevo León, Mexico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
For all you skeptics/"I'm not good enough"/"I can't do it"/doubters out there, YOU CAN DO THIS! It is soooooooo easy. I'm VERY new to cake/cupcake baking/decorating (just started playing around for fun in Oct 08). I made this last night for a legal pad sheet cake (11X15, my very first sheet cake) and it was super easy. I melted the marshmallows and added the water and vanilla...then panicked because I couldn't get it smooth. No prob, just kept nuking at 30 sec intervals. AT THIS POINT, I ADDED GEL FOOD COLORING to get my desired color (soooo much easier than adding at the kneading stage like I did the other time!). I added as much 10X sugar as I could w/a spoon, then turned it onto my HEAVILY GREASED (I use Crisco) counter to knead the rest in. I am impatient, so I attempted to roll it out and use it the same night I made it. Didn't work (however, it would have worked if I'd been using it for cut outs/decorations, just not for covering an entire cake). I put it back in a ball, rubbed some more shortening on it, then wrapped it in plastic wrap and put it in the frig til morning. After letting it warm, I rolled it on a cutting board sprinkled w/corn starch and had no problem getting it on the cake (I simply inverted the cutting board over the cake!). I want to also add that it was INCREDIBLY HUMID when I made this and it STILL worked super well. I'm telling you, give this a try; people will think you are a baking ROCK STAR for very minimal effort! TY for post
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
739 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Love working with MMF! I also use shortening instead of butter - works great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amboac
Reviewed: May 29, 2009
AWESOME and affordable!! Definitly use butter or shortening on your hands. It was a crazy mess when I missed that step, much better once I applied it! I mixed the color in the water. I used it right away and then some more that had been in the frig. Great stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amboac

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is fondant is the best thus far. The only thing I did which was different was that I coated my mixing bowl and the dough hook with shortening and then poured the melted marshmallow in there the added the sugar a cup at a time. So much less mess. Mixed it for a further 10 min after all sugar was added. Turned in to a shortening suface and also coated my hands added about a cup of sugar again to make it non sticky remember to continue using the shortening on your hands. Tasty. Will do again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
THRILLED. This was my first attempt at fondant and it was so easy!! I've heard that making fondant is very tricky so I've never attempted it until now. A perfect recipe, easy to follow, easy to make. My first fondant cake actually worked! My design skills may need some improvement but the fondant turned out great. I forgot to put the shortening on my hands at first, BIG MESS. I definitely advocate the use of shortening. Also, I didn't refrigerate overnight and it came out fine. I just rolled the fondant into a 2 inch thick slab, put in the freezer for about 30 min followed by the refrigerator for about an hour. Afterward I brought it back to just under room temp and rolled it out to about 1/6 inch thick. It was enough to easily cover a 4 layer 9 inch round with butter cream between the slabs. I made another half recipe to use for decoration. Very happy. I will likely never try another fondant recipe, no need to mess with perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GessicaAbsi
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
LOVE THIS RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GessicaAbsi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Ice Cream in a Bag

Yes, you and your kids can make ice cream in a bag. Shake, scoop, and eat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States