Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by socialbug
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was the best recipe! The last time I made fondant, I used someone's suggestion of using marshmallow fluff. It did not work. This time, I followed the recipe. It worked great! I made my son a skylander's cake and he is thrilled with the results. This was easy to make, easy to use. I did use one reviewers suggestion to use cornstarch when rolling it out. That worked great! For the stone on the portal, I crumpled a brown paper bag and it gave the texture of stone. I will use this again! It was easier than decorating with icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
absolutly perfect! I have made marshmellow fondant before but was always chewy and marshmallowy. This recipe with the addition of the water cuts that and made a perfect texture that was easy to roll, cut and form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Jarboe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2012
It turned out very well. It is very sweet though. I would not recommend using a hand mixer while trying to mix this as it does not work well. I found using the bread hook on my stand mixer worked the best. It was a big hit at the party and people loved the cake. It makes it look like it was done professional. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Jonkhout

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland Landing, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
i tried the marshmallow fondant cake for the very first time for my daughter's second birthday and it turned out a complete hit! forgot to add vanilla extract but it didn't make any difference. just follow the recipe as it is and you will get the perfect thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
So easy, so fine! it has been something new here in Italy and my cakes now are so glamour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I chose to make small portions per Littldot's instructions (2 cups marshmallows, 2.5tsp water, 1/4 tsp vanilla and 1.5 cups of icing sugar for each batch adding vegetable shortening on fingers when needed), and it worked perfectly. My first small batch was kneaded in about 10 minutes to get the right consistency! I did add coloring after AND it was a pain - Mix at the beginning!! This was my first time making fondant, and it was very easy, really! It has a great taste, and that is rarely the case with fondant! Try it in small portions if you are skeptical, it will change your mind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASMAY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
My son wanted a "Club Penguin" cake for his birthday last year. Thank you so much for this recipe. I had no idea what I was doing but this saved me. I made an igloo, "puffles", penguins, etc. Not professional but he loved it and everyone thought it was so cute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bevvie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I've never made fondant before, but decided to try this based on reviews. It turned out great! I made a double recipe because I needed not only to cover a round 4 layer cake, but I needed enough for decorations too. I ended up with plenty, and some left over. I made a few changes to the recipe because I was rushed for time: I stuck two large containers of marshmallow fluff in the freezer for about a half hour and then used them instead. I didn't use any water, but I did add the vanilla to the fluff. I then added powdered sugar about one cup at a time. Here's where I had problems: I dont have a stand mixer, so I tried mixing it with a hand mixer, and it failed miserably, wrapping the dough all up around to the top of the beaters. IT WON'T WORK, SO SAVE THE TIME AND DON'T TRY IT! I had to mix this by hand. Using a spoon wasn't working, so I tried using my hands. That was even worse. My husband had to scrape all the sticky fluff off me. Finally I just covered a wooden spoon in butter and stirred it. Much better! It was hard work though, and took forever! This recipe calls for 2 lbs of powdered sugar, but even doubling the recipe I DIDN'T double the sugar and it turned out fine and was plenty sweet! After making it I wrapped it and stuck it in the freezer for a half hour, and then took it out and let it set for another half hour. Kneading took about 15 minutes. Don't roll it too thin, and make sure to chill immediately. My cake fell apart because I didn't do that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Meier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Bestest recipes EVER!it turned out too good!it tasted awesome too.I covered a cake with it and decided to make some flowers too and amazingly without adding any gem tex it still dried in jus a few hours instead of overnight.I did not use any butter though and i did need an extra cup of icing sugar as well!I wud suggest dusting your surface with a bit of cornstarch for a smooth fondant and no sticking.I did something most ppl wud be so against OR SCARED to do so ...i kept my fondant covered cake in the fridge (covered)for two nights! IT WAS STILL AWESOME!so overall give it a try it really is worth it :)i wish i could give it more than 5 stars ..thanku kiele and allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Worked great! I did it all by hand because I thought it would be too messy to use the Kitchen Aid... next time I'll break out the KA. I used it 1/2 hour after making (letting it rest in the frig) because I needed it done right away. I don't know if it would be better the next day, but it seemed just fine in the time I had. My 9 year old had a great time using it to make Ninjago decorations for his birthday treat. I don't think I'll use the butter next time, I'll use shortening or coconut oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 919) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States