Marshmallow Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Bestest recipes EVER!it turned out too good!it tasted awesome too.I covered a cake with it and decided to make some flowers too and amazingly without adding any gem tex it still dried in jus a few hours instead of overnight.I did not use any butter though and i did need an extra cup of icing sugar as well!I wud suggest dusting your surface with a bit of cornstarch for a smooth fondant and no sticking.I did something most ppl wud be so against OR SCARED to do so ...i kept my fondant covered cake in the fridge (covered)for two nights! IT WAS STILL AWESOME!so overall give it a try it really is worth it :)i wish i could give it more than 5 stars ..thanku kiele and allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Worked great! I did it all by hand because I thought it would be too messy to use the Kitchen Aid... next time I'll break out the KA. I used it 1/2 hour after making (letting it rest in the frig) because I needed it done right away. I don't know if it would be better the next day, but it seemed just fine in the time I had. My 9 year old had a great time using it to make Ninjago decorations for his birthday treat. I don't think I'll use the butter next time, I'll use shortening or coconut oil instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Pro-tip, use a croc pot of you don't want to microwave or double broil. I simply put the marshmallows in on high, added the water, then let hit melt slowly. Once it started getting to the point were it was about half way there I dropped it to low and stirred every couple of minutes. Add food coloring while it is melted, makes it much cleaner. Once it was melted, before adding the sugar, I removed the inner dish from the croc pot so it could cool while I worked in the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Karyn Cardello Geffriaud
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This stuff took a little longer than it said to make, and I am sure I need some practice rolling it out and decorating with it, but it came out AWESOME! I had to throw the leftovers away because I was eating it plain it tasted so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Disodo
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I used this fondant on my daughters birthday cake this year, it was really good. I'm not a big fan of having a thick layer of regular fondant on cake. It looks nice but doesn't taste very good unless it's super thin. I used marshmallow fluff to make this a little easier, the finished product was super sweet (obviously) which worried me that it would make the cake to sweet. Even with the icing and cake underneath everything still tasted wonderful! I won't use regular fondant again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Disodo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassandra
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was my first experience with fondant - making it and decorating with it. I was very happy with the taste and the ease of using it for decorating. However, I felt the directions for making it are very difficult, particularly step 2. Since trying this recipe, I found a way I like much better. I pour most of the bag of powdered sugar onto a mat on my table, and make a well in center of it. Then I add the cooled melted marshmallow mixture to the well and begin scooping the powdered sugar up and over the mm mixture with my greased hands. I keep doing this over and over for several minutes until the mm mixture is no longer runny and not as sticky to the touch. Then I begin the kneading process. When I tried adding the powdered sugar as stated in this recipe, it was nearly impossible with the beaters after about one cup of sugar. I've made the fondant now about 6 times with my new approach and LOVE it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
Very easy to make. I kneaded in the KA stand mixer. Added gel color to the marshmallows while warm and mixed in. Very sweet..rave reviews
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk River, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This was my first time making fondant, and I have to admit- I was scared! But this recipe was so incredibly simple and it came out flawless! I will never buy fondant again- this recipe is wonderful and a money saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexInWonderland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
What a fabulous recipe. I love to create, fondant is my new creative for the kids, and I am helping out a family member with making favors that have fondant cut outs. I thought I would try to make my own... after reading several recipes I almost bailed. This one seemed great, and the reviews with the tips helped a lot. I also used FLUFF, 16oz, added food color with the water and clear vanilla, greased the kitchenaid, and all that... it went smoothly. I will roll out tomorrow and allow the cut outs to sort of dry out. OH YEAH, and it tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
I am sorry I don't really understand .. is that 1/4c of butter just to rub our hands with? or do we mix it with the dough? I made it yesterday with no butter in the dough and it's kind of dry. I did make 6 butterflies for a test and they came out OK but not shiny, the rest is still in my refrigerator. I read other fondant recipes, they use butter/shortening on the dough. The taste is good though, just dry and not shiny. Maybe if I put the butter in the dough it will be perfect and I will sure increase the star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TimAnnMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Fondant

This easy fondant makes fancy cake decorating a snap.

How to Make Strawberry Jam

This recipe for fresh jam couldn't be easier—just three basic ingredients!

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States