Marshmallow Crispie Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
I hadn't made MarshMallow Krispie Treats for ages, there wasn't a recipe on the box or bag, and I forgot my recipe so tried this, and it is much better than my old one! The Bars are really gooey, very good and stay fresh for days if stored in airtight containers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
I hadn't made Rice Krispie treats in forever, mostly because I had forgotten about them. Then my 21/2 year old discovered them at the grocery store one day, so I decided I'd rather make my own. This was a great recipe- I like the addition of the vanilla. I added just a touch more cereal since some people seemed to have "sticky" problems, and it came out perfect. I also sprinkled those M&M baking mini candies across the top, which gave it a nice extra-sweet touch. Only thing to note is to put the M&Ms on RIGHT AWAY, because they won't stick once the marshmallow starts to set. Next time I might just stir them in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Graham, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2005
Perfect! I've never made rice crispie treats with vanilla, but it adds a great softness to the flavor. These are perfect as-is, but I just made a batch for Saint Patrick's day with these changes: cut back a little on the butter, went a little heavy on the marshmallows, and instead of vanilla I added (of course) green food coloring (about 10-12 drops for a double batch) and a few tablespoons of Irish Cream liquor. After I patted this into a 13x9 pan, I topped it with 1/4 cup each white, milk and semi-sweet chocolate chips, which I had melted and mixed with a tablespoon of butter and another few tablespoons of Irish Cream (this is the top layer of the Irish Cream Truffle Fudge recipe found here!). It spreads on top in a thin layer. They're a hit here!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISAKP71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeside, California, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2003
I know this sounds ridiculous but I DON'T make Rice Krispe Bars - I tend to burn the marshmellow (or something) b/c they ALWAYS - NEVER FAIL - Come out hard as a rock!! Therefore, I always let my mom make them until last night!! I did increase the krispies by a 1/2c and THEY WERE SOFT!! They are marshmellowy but not soggy! (I might try 5c of rice krispies next time - keep your fingers crossed that this increase won't ruin them). I will keep using this recipe b/c it was the first time these worked for me!! Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Oh, these were so easy and good. Definitely a no fail recipe. I didn't add the vanilla, but they were still good without it. I'll definitely make these again. Thanks Karen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2001
Very sticky, but well worth it :) Add some chocolate chips if you want. It's very marshmellowey and tastes great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
This recipe is easy just as stated and is very good. Thanks for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2004
These turned out great. I cut the butter down to 2 tablespoons and it didn't affect the outcome. The only thing I would do different next time is make a double batch! Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2005
excellent! i added 1/2 cup more crispie rice as suggested and they weren't soggy at all. i didn't have wax paper but a wet spoon worked perfect to press it down. thx for the recipe (i couldn't find it on the box either!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2005
Quick and easy to make. Shame about the washing up (it's REALLY sticky!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Marshmallow Treats

See how to make super-easy marshmallow treats.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States