Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
I used this recipe for a Girl Scout camping trip. After we made cupcakes in a box oven, we made the frosting using 1 extra cup of powdered sugar, vanilla instead of almond and 50% more marshmallow creme. We made chocolate too by adding 2/3 cup cocoa to another batch. We topped with a small marshmallow, 1 hershey chocolate bar square and a pice of graham cracker. They were awesome s'mores cupcakes! This frosting is wonderful. Everyone was asking for the recipe! Will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Incredibly sweet and decadent! I used this as the filling for homemade twinkies and it was fabulous. I used the Mamon (Sponge Cakes) recipe on this site along with my twinkie pan and made the best "twinkies" in the world. I'm actually going to make a cake and use this as an old fashion icing, just on the top with fruit to cut the sweetness a little. Some reviewers posted that is was too sweet but that's the point of frosting, right? My husband ate it right out of the bowl. Very good and will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Woodville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
Easy to make, delicious and nice and stable. Makes lovely cupcake frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I used this on a lemon cake that had lemon curd filling. Everyone raved about the combination. It has become the most requested cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie Gibbia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
This frosting came out as a liquid, not a frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
The almond extract was way too strong for our taste. If i would of known i would of only put half a teaspoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Yum and yum! This is a really tasty frosting a bit messy to make but well worth it. I did cut it in half to just frost a regular 9x13 chocolate cake. I also added about 2tbs of milk just to loosen the frosting a bit. Will certainly be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I made this as a filling for whoopie pies. I used my stand mixer for all but the marshmallow cream, then folded that in by hand. I as worried it would be difficult to fold in the marshmallow, but it was surprisingly easy. This frosting is delicious and works very nicely as a filling. My family loved it and said it was better than the last time I made whoopie pies with a different filling. I will definitely make this again and again. The marshmallow seems to lighten the buttercream. I substituted vanilla for almond extract, otherwise, followed the recipe to the letter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I liked it. But, I really thought it was really buttery. I could definitely taste the buttery. Either less butter more more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by musicaboveall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
This is a relatively easy recipe. I personally thought the almond extract was a little strong. I'm thinking I'll cut it back to a half teaspoon next time. I also added a half cup of cocoa powder. I didn't even have to add any additional sugar. I will definitely be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States