Marshmallow Buttercream Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Delicious and super easy to make. It is both buttery and sweet. If you use quality butter it will not be white, and it is very soft: I didn't try it in a decorator bag because it was so soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
This frosting was AMAZING. I think everything should be frosted in it. I especially like the hint of Almond, this was a huge hit on our "Smores Cupcakes."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Lee Master

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tashera
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I love this icing it light and fluffy melts in your mouth so delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Based on the recommendations of other reviewers, I tweaked the proportions a little: I used 1 1/2 cups butter, 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar, and a 13 oz jar or marshmallow creme, and it turned out to be a delicious, fluffy icing that I would definitely use again. I also used peppermint extract in place of the almond to go with some chocolate peppermint cupcakes, but I think almost any flavoring would work. One recommendation I would make is to definitely use unsalted butter. I didn't because I only had salted on hand, and the icing ended up slightly more salty than I like. Overall, I think this is a great, versatile recipe that is easy to tweak to suit your personal tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
Thank you Staci! I halved the recipe and I still had enough to frost a double-layer 9" cake. The frosting comes together beautifully within minutes. It didn't have a strong marshmallow taste, so the next time we make this we will double the marshmallow creme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA
Living In: New Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Yummy. Left out the almond extract and used whole 16 oz jar of marshmallow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
OMG! Love it. I have been looking for a good buttercream icing and this is it. I read the reviews before making, and cut out a cup of sugar, as I can't stand really sweet icing. It was awesome and I may even leave out another 1/2 cup of sugar next time. This recipe rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I've made the version on the Land o Lakes website for Lamb Cupcakes. I love the consistency, taste, and the fact that it's pure white so easy to dye. Also, nothing needs refrigeration, so leaving leftover frosting out isn't a concern. The proportions on their site are 1.5c butter, 2c powdered sugar, 2 tsp vanilla, and 2 (7 oz) jars marshmallow creme. I'm going to try adding cocoa powder for a chocolate version, so I'm glad to see someone else had success with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
I made this as instructed with the exception of vanilla extract instead of almond. It was wonderful! We used this as the filling for homemade oatmeal cream pies and everyone loved it! I will definitely make again...maybe for chocolate cupcakes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Rolled Buttercream Fondant

Decorate cakes and cookies with this delicious fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States