Marshmallow Apple Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made 1/2 a recipe to try this out and it fit fine in a square pan. I didn't use granny smith apples, I believe they were Gala apples, but I don't think that matters. The difference between this apple crisp and others I have eaten is the slight change in the topping. It is not really crispy except for the "old fashioned oats" I used. And, the topping tastes like an oatmeal cookie, but has the consistency of "apple butter," but it is really sweet! The marshmallows dissolved while cooking, but I am guessing were added for extra sweetness? I thought it was a little sweet, which could definitely be cut back. But, texture aside I did like that the topping tasted slightly like a baked oatmeal cookie which was a little different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I took this to a girl's night and everyone had seconds! I kept hoping that people would stop eating it so I could take home leftovers. Next time, I'll make one just for me! I made this very close to the original recipe, except in half. And I used 5 smallish Fuji apples instead of 4 large Granny Smiths, since that's what I had on hand. The proportion was perfect! So good, but it is very sweet. If you pair it with anything, make sure it's not sweet - probably not something you want to add ice cream to. It would go wonderfully with a cappuccino!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulare, California, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I followed the recipe faithfully, but it was way too sweet for me. I was rather impressed with how syrupy it was and the melted marshmallows were yummy, but won't be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is just way too sweet for my family -- even my tweens, who love sweets, didn't finish their portion. We love apple crisp but the marshmallows in this variation almost made our teeth hurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
The marshmallows made it too sweet. A traditional apple crisp is much more to our liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Delicious! Did not deviate from the recipe. Served with whip cream. Thank for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
This was very good- everyone loved it BUT it was very, very sweet. I think when I make this again, I will use less brown sugar. The marshmellows gave it a GREAT topping- was fund and different and o so YUMMY. I wouldn't omitt them because it sets it a part from other dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin4Pappas

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Amherst, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Loved it! I was a bit short on butter so I just made it with what I had and it still came out great! Definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
It´s deliciously crunchy and the combination of the soft apples and gummy mallows make every bite just perfect. Fast, tasty, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Amazing, delicious, and simple. Very easy to make and super tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

Best Apple Crisp Ever

Tart apples go perfectly with the sweet, crunchy topping.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

See how to make a simple apple dessert that’s ready in an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States