Marranitos (Mexican Pig-Shaped Cookies) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Love these cookies! Great flavor -- even better than the bakery's version. However, based on the "too dry" remarks from several of the reviewers, I only used about 5 cups of flour. Basically, I just added flour until the dough pulled away from the bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dena0206

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I do have to give everyone a warning about this recipe! When you bake these babies, keep them out from your kids sight. They will ruin dinner. My brother visited from Houston and said these taste so much better than the bakeries there! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie A

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
loved this one the best,only i rolled out 1/2 inch made for even better cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I love these cookies! The second time I made them I altered the recipe just a bit, which really made them incredible: 1)I added 1 tsp of ground ginger as suggested. 2)I thought these were a tad too molasses-y, so I used 3/4 cup molasses and 1/4 cup honey. 3)To make the dough a little less crumbly and easier to roll out, I upped the milk to 1/3 cup. 4) I like them to be a little thicker, so I rolled the dough out to 1/2 inch thickness. Also, my pig cookie cutter was much smaller than the traditional, so this recipe made 4 dozen cookies, and I baked them for 12 minutes (you don't want to overbake). Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cakewitch85
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
the taste was good. But they where kind of dry. I don't know if I did something wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cakewitch85
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
They tasted exactly like the puerquitos that my parents used to buy me as a child from our local panaderia (bakery). My one suggestion is to adjust the baking time if you dont have the marranito/puerquito cookie cutter. this cookie cutter is slightly larger then your average large cookie. I used a large tulip cookie cutter (b/c its what i had) and the first batch hardened to much, and they were okay, but they defintely didnt have that authentic marranito texture. So I lowered the timed by 3-4 mintues. Its also important to roll the batter into the right thickness...enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsZuniga

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
These tasted just like the ones we grew up eating. They were great! I gave it only 4 stars because the dough was really hard to roll out, it was crumbly, so it became very frustrating and more work than I wanted to put into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Love these cookies!!! So glad I found the recipe...no more shipping them from Texas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
These are really good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-19 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic Mexican Tortillas

Make your own tortillas to use in soft tacos, quesadillas, or your favorite dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States